We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kind, friendly and warm.”
Review of Opalios

Opalios
Ranked #1 of 3 Shopping in Coober Pedy
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Opalios has been mining in the Coober Pedy opal fields since 1973 and is still mining today. It is a family business that cuts all its own opal and creates its own jewellery on site.We have an experienced opal miner, expert opal cutter, and jeweller on site, and all our opal is cut to the finest standard. All opals and jewellery come with a written certificate, guaranteeing quality, value, and craftsmanship.Come and see Andrew, Stella and George for the best value opals.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Kind, friendly and warm.”
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

I popped in today as recommended by the man in the bottle shop and was greeted with a warm smile. I did buy a pendant but was overwhelmed by the kind gesture of gifts, I left with bundles of souvenirs and was told when questioned that it is give and take here.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    7
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Werribee, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Opalios”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We were advised to visit this family owned store by our tour guide...we were welcomed with open arms. Stella and George had all the time in the world to tell their families story. And a very proud family they are.
They explained the different types of opal, and hey had plenty.
The price range was to cater to everyone, and the fact that the opals mined by the father were then turned into jewellery by the son and sold by the mother had special significance.
Cannot wait to visit again

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leeanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Under Ground Wonder.”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

If you ever think of going on a trip to the RED CENTRE, COOBER PEDY is a must visit.In my opinion,this place is amazing, with all the underground vacilities, homes ,churches,bars etc.The home we visited was wonderful, the guided tour of the Umoona Opal Mine was fantastic.The guide on our tour was English and a great informative woman she was. 75% of the inhabitants live in these underground dwellings to escape the Summer heat which apparently is extreme. A truly fantastic experience. A camera is a must to photograph the underground Church and the Mine. We were on a tour with a group from all over NZ, we arrived at lunch time, stayed the night here.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Graham G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful jewellery, lovely family”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

George is lovely. Our 5yo girl had, I'm sure over 30 questions for George and he answered every one. Our 2 boys aged 11 and 9 loved the shop and were made to feel very welcome with free gifts and again, all questions answered. I tried on many pieces of beautiful jewellery and we also viewed pictures of their family mine. Stella was again, lovely to our daughter and will always look on her opal tree fondly.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ShannonLeigh1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The lady here was fantastic with our children, she gave them both a piece of opal and a rock they could share with the kids from school. No pressure to buy anything and was great to see the work in progress.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Opalios also viewed

Coober Pedy, South Australia
 
Coober Pedy, South Australia
Coober Pedy, South Australia
 

Been to Opalios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing