We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Catacomb Church

Catacomb Church
Ranked #6 of 18 things to do in Coober Pedy
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An Underground church named after the Catacombs in Rome. A place of serenity where week by week we tell others the great news that Jesus still forgives sin for those who seek him.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Unique”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Has the feeling of what it might have been like in Galilee all those years ago - perhaps it has more to do with the dry desert setting and remoteness, but this was the first and most lasting impression I have of the Catacomb Church.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank travelwriter2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    70
    18
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seymour, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Calm and peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Beautifully meditative experience visiting this church - very easy to feel close to the Almighty here.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Debra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saugatuck, Michigan
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Welcoming Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

As I found with all things in Coober Pedy, the locals really make this place special. The pastor and his wife are just lovely! I attended church on Sunday and was immediately welcomed in. Locals who run other "attractions" recognised me and came over to say hello, there is a tea break during church and many people came to say hello and have a chat, and it was very comfortable and homely atmosphere. If you just go for a visit and not for church, make sure to go up on the alter, lie down, and look up. If you take a picture like this, it looks like you're looking out binoculars.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank greenbeanjean26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Quaint”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

This is a lovely small church built underground. Some nice displays inside with informative guides. The alter is well designed and takes a lovely photo.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Munich
Level Contributor
105 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Outstanding place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

We've seen many churches around the world. This one is, of course, very special and unique. The surrounding city is undoubtedly weird. But Catacomb Church is an oasis in the desert with a peaceful charme and great acoustics at that. The church is open to the public at daytime and free of charge. You can park your car right in front. Since there haven't been any visitors photos so far I've uploaded a few impressions.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris_and_Jas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catacomb Church also viewed

Coober Pedy, South Australia
Coober Pedy, South Australia
 
Coober Pedy, South Australia
Coober Pedy, South Australia
 

Been to Catacomb Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing