We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Hotel ! Top Service !”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Coober Pedy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Underground Motel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Coober Pedy
Reviewed June 21, 2008

I had a great time at the Underground Hotel.
Mike, who runs this hotel is a top host
as well as guide. He will direct you to the
most appropriate services in town and even
give you a lift ! He will even advise on tours.
I found his help to be 105% above my
expectations.

The hotel is immaculately clean. Everything
to the last detail. It is dust free, the rooms
are pleasant and the shower/kitchen facilities
are fantastic also.

Just make sure that if you do walk at night
you bring a torch as some of the streets
near by are quite dim at night.

Otherwize, enjoy your fantastic accomodation.
Sit outside and watch the landscape as it changes,
cook yourself a meal in the kitchen or have a yarn
with Mike who is guaranteed to give you the
"local view" on everything.

Thank you Mike ! And thank you Undeground Hotel
for making my stay at Coober Pedy EXCELLENT
in all respects.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Tony_au77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 229 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2008

Very, very clean. Awesome rates. Tastefully decorated. My husband, 3 young children and I were very pleased with our stay. We would (and already have) recommend this hotel to anyone visiting or traveling through Coober Pedy. Our only complaint was that it was a bit warm in our room, but then again, it was January in Australia.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deemarini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2007

we saw this accomodation on the web and sent an email to Mike for a room .unfortunatly only suites were left , and i am glad .
the suites are a little more expensive but worth the money .
the rooms have fridge , microwave, tv, toaster aswell as en suite facilities.all under ground....
mike is an excellent host who is on hand to recommend things to see and do .he recommended places to eat at night - both of which were good and value for money.
we drove of road , on a dirt track to the dog fence and then around to see the salt and pepper hills and mikes timing was spot on.

we went to the under ground church and down two mines , one working and one show , all facinating stuff

the motel is slightly out of town up a hill which means breakfast outside affords a great view of the surrounding areas

we were so plesaed to have made the effort to drive from Adelaide and to have dicovered this gem of a place

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank tamaraLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Maelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Nicht Standardzimmer buchen, hat keinen Kühlschrank
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank subo2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled with friends
Thank bram l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iplatteel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coober Pedy hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
0.6 mi away
Desert Cave Hotel
Desert Cave Hotel
#7 of 7 in Coober Pedy
247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Desert View Apartments
Desert View Apartments
#5 of 7 in Coober Pedy
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
0.8 mi away
Mud Hut Motel
Mud Hut Motel
#2 of 7 in Coober Pedy
271 reviews
1.4 mi away
Underground Bed & Breakfast
Underground Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Coober Pedy
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Underground Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Underground Motel

Address: P.O. Box 375 | Catacomb Road, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Coober Pedy
#3 Business Hotel in Coober Pedy
#4 Family Hotel in Coober Pedy
Price Range: $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well maintained property with very clean rooms and grounds, situated on the edge of the town center in a quiet and secure area. All rooms underground, with ensuite shower/toilet, TV and phone. Internet WiFi Hotspot. Great elevated location offering a fantastic view over the desert landscape and the Breakaways. Outdoor setting under veranda, trailer/caravan parking, children's play area, BBQ, kitchen and laundry facilities. Visitor information and tour arrangements. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Underground Hotel Coober Pedy
Underground Hotel Coober Pedy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing