We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A coober pedy experience that has to be experienced”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Coober Pedy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Underground Motel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Coober Pedy
Reviewed July 5, 2012

If you come to coober pedy you have to stay in a underground motel. The price was more then reasonable 125 a night, we were here for 2 nights and had no issues. The service was good the lady was most helpful. The rooms are clean and reasonably appointed. The motel is a short 2 minute drive from town centre. Breakfast provided is basic, toast, cereal and some fruit, all self serve from the communal kitchen.

Sitting on the front veranda, cup of tea in hand (or a beer), watching the sun set over the vast expanse of nothing is something you must do if you visit here, it's a great way to spend a afternoon sitting on the balcony in the nice warm sun

The rooms are a tad noisy and for you mobile phone junkies be warned, being underground there is no signal, if you need to use your phone you have to step outside. Other then that i am happy to come back again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glentc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 229 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2012

Friendly staff, immaculately kept, well priced and a quaint character- we only stayed one night but enjoyed every minute. We recommend The Underground Hotel and will come back on our next trip north.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We recently stayed at The Underground Motel in Coober Pedy and had a really great experience. The hotel was spotless and inviting and the lady in charge was very helpful. We paid $125 for 2 of us in a double room with use of the kitchen and continental breakfast included. The kitchen was great as we were able to cook dinner and there was also a BBQ which was uncovered and relocated for our use. The breakfast was all set out in the kitchen for you to help yourself so we were able to do that even though we left at 6.30am!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mpowis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Well priced and very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. This quirky motel is cut into the sandstone on the side of a hill with mining machinery. Well worth a stay and I will return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PhilK049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

It's a simple place, but it's cool. A bit of a blast from the past, comfy bed, good shower, free WiFi.
Climb to the roof and have a look at the 360 degree view. Way Cool!

Room Tip: Climb to the view on the roof, it's worth the effort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Coomba-roomby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

We spent 4 days in Coober Pedy, staying in the suite rooms at the Underground Motel. The staff were super friendly, giving great travel advice, restaurant recommendations, and offering to call around and see what tours were available (as we came during the summer slow season). It was always nice to come back after a hot day out to a cool, clean, thoughtfully decorated room. Next time we stay in Coober Pedy, we'll definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Suites have the kitchenette, and are up higher in the side of the hill, for only a little extra per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Felicity_Hashimura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We arrived at Coober Pedy Airport and the hotel staff offered transport to and from the Airport. They also provided us with transport around town and tourist hotspots.

However, transport is crucial as there is no public transport around.

The hotel itself was awesome, a must stay experience. Outside was 38'C and inside was cool throughout the day. We were actually cold at night!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CXCaptain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coober Pedy hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
0.6 mi away
Desert Cave Hotel
Desert Cave Hotel
#6 of 7 in Coober Pedy
247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Desert View Apartments
Desert View Apartments
#5 of 7 in Coober Pedy
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
0.8 mi away
Mud Hut Motel
Mud Hut Motel
#2 of 7 in Coober Pedy
271 reviews
1.4 mi away
Underground Bed & Breakfast
Underground Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Coober Pedy
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Underground Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Underground Motel

Address: P.O. Box 375 | Catacomb Road, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Coober Pedy
Price Range: $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well maintained property with very clean rooms and grounds, situated on the edge of the town center in a quiet and secure area. All rooms underground, with ensuite shower/toilet, TV and phone. Internet WiFi Hotspot. Great elevated location offering a fantastic view over the desert landscape and the Breakaways. Outdoor setting under veranda, trailer/caravan parking, children's play area, BBQ, kitchen and laundry facilities. Visitor information and tour arrangements. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Underground Hotel Coober Pedy
Underground Hotel Coober Pedy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing