We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Radeka Downunder Underground Motel & Backpacker Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Desert Cave Hotel(Coober Pedy)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mud Hut Motel(Coober Pedy)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Opal Inn(Coober Pedy)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveler rating
76
50
28
9
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
76
50
28
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssouvenir shopdorm roommiddle of townstaying undergroundshort stayground levelclean kitchenunderground motelalice springslight sleeperescape the heatunderground experienceother guestscool placestayed for one nighta great place to staywould stay again
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 171 reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We had a great time staying here, the service was brilliant and nothing was too much trouble. Amazing location and staying underground was a great experience and very cool when the weather outside is hot.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Pretty neat experience. We had the private double room which was good, spacious, quiet and comfortable. GREAT SERVICE, reasonable prices. One of my best sleeps in Aus. I'd avoid the dorms, there not very private, mostly cause there's no door its all open to the hallway, but all in all a REALLY GOOD EXPERIENCE.

Room Tip: Go private room, not dorm. Worth it.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Webeetravllingmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We really enjoyed our experience here. Martin and Garry were great hosts ... (no they are not gay ... they just run shifts to man the reception and the bar.) We had one of the motel rooms. It was very nice. It was hard to believe that the temperature outside was tipping the mercury at nearly 50 C. The rooms are the perfect temperature and it is all natural. No air conditioner. As there are no windows, when you turn the lights out it is perfectly dark. There is no nose as the walls are so thick and the temperature is just right, so expect to sleep in if you are one of these rooms unless you set the alarm clock, as there is nothing to wake you up.

Room Tip: We had a look down stairs at the back packer accommodation and it is very open, so you are subject to the noise of other back packers. The motel rooms, 3.5 mtrs under ground are quiet and good value if you are travelling as a couple.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

we stayed underground for the first time and it was a unique experienece we would highly recommanded redakas to anybody that wishes to stay in coober pedy, its nice and cool and comfortable and you can sleep and never wake up

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank booby c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

The place delivered on providing underground accommodation. The room they gave us was very spacious and cool, not claustrophobic at all considering that it is around 6 meters below the ground.

The shared kitchen facilities were excellent and the kitchen itself was very spacious.

However, the toilets can be improved. There aren't enough for a place this size and I can imagine it can get very crowded during the high season. Also, all the toilet facilities are aboveground, so you always have to go up.

I think they also have motel-type rooms but I reckon these rooms are all aboveground.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank louierh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews