We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
eDreams
Priceline
$83
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/26/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
$83
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/25/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
FindHotel
ZenHotels.com
View all 8 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
212 results
Traveler rating
89
68
35
11
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
89
68
35
11
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews underground motel unique hotel fantastic stay above ground in town road trip backpackers facilities temperature telescope outback moon ensuite discount knowledge desert oasis
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
133 - 138 of 212 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Radeka's is a genuine underground hotel. All the cheap rooms are actually cut out of rock with bare stone walls it feels like your sleeping in a mine! The manager Martin is a chilled out Aussie. Really cool guy, easy going about everything. The gift shop is a bit pricey though I recommend checking out the shops in town.

Date of stay: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dizzyangsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

radeka was a great place to stay in coober pedy, to keep out of the heat and also sleep inside a rock... it's a great experience that was thoroughly enjoyed, and not expensive either. i would happily go back to coober pedy and to radeka.

Room tip: splurge and get your own room.
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ausrach15
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

The family and I spent a couple of nights in the motel rooms at the Radeka in Jan 2013. This was unique experience which made the 12 hour drive from Renmark worthwhile. Nothing is too much for Martin (Manager) who really made our stay remarkable. The rooms were extremely clean and (thankfully) wonderfully cool. Dont forget to have to have a drink at the motels underground bar.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scanotrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Martin and the young lady at the desk made our stay in Coober Pedy feel like staying with an old friend. We were given all the information we needed and more - Martin helped us with our tent and was always looking out for our enjoyment and safety.

The rooms were a luxury after camping in above ground heat for a few days.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashscic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We arrived at the Radeka after a long journey down from Northern Queensland, via Birdsville and Lake Eyre. We were immediately impressed by Martin Smith the Manager who is a wealth of knowledge and always took time to point out things of interest and how to get the best out of our 2 night stay in Coober Pedy. The rooms are well furnished and clean and obviously cool becuase they are underground. Martin has good facilities for the weary traveller..a good laundry and a good bar and a great Opal shop where you can buy from cheap as Opal chips to several thousand $ Opals and Martin has good knowledge of what Opal is all about and its varieties. He always took time to have a beer with the custoimers at the end of the day and told us the best places to go for brekkie and dinner. We ate at both The Desert Cave for Breakfast and had dinners at Johns Pizza place (just over the road) which was excellent-best steak i have had in a while. We also went to Tom and Mary's Greek Taverna-food great as well but dont expect to find a Tom or a Mary-some welsh guy owns it and he is no Tom Jones! All in all good value , great service and if a place as rugged as Coober Pedy can make you happy which it certainly did with our oparty then stay at the Radeka-it is an experience.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HowieT3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews