We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The WOW factor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Desert View Apartments
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Coober Pedy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Wow, what can I say about the Desert View Motel. This place has the WOW factor, fantastic accommodations, spacious, clean and the owner Tony who greeted us on arrival, blew us away with his hospitality. It was like greeting a long lost friend. We ended up staying two nights and would highly recommend this place to other travellers as THE only place to stay in Coober Pedy. Very reasonably priced and the welcome you will get from the owners is amazing.

If you are wanting a traditional Coober Pedy underground style motel, you cannot beat this place for quality or value. The pool is absolutely fantastic and kept beautifully clean.


Sharon Chapman, Melbourne, Australia

Room Tip: Room 2 was amazing, 3 bedrooms and so spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 192 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2012

Our stayed at Desert view was marked by very helpful service from the owner and the novelty of sleeping underground.
The accomodation was clean and neat with all we needed for a few nights.
The pool was still quite cool but would be great come the middle of summer.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rubbaduck73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

We stayed here in Dec '11 for two nights on our way to Uluru and then again for another two nights on our return journey. The apartments are large, cool, clean and provide the underground living experience that Coober Pedy is famous for. The pool was a welcome relief in the 44+ degree heat, and there is a BBQ area that was pleasant to sit around in the evening. Linda & Tony are very relaxed and easy to deal with. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank good_advice_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We stayed here in Aug 2010 and absolutely loved it! The new owners were so lovely and helpful with lots of local knowledge. Room was of an older vintage but spotlessly clean and not out of character with the whole experience of living underground. If you are thinking of staying underground then this is your place. Planning our return trip now and can't wait!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thefatrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Stayed here with our party of 3 families (one unit/family) - travelling through to Uluru for Christmas - loved the place so much we booked to return on our way back south and spent New Year's Eve there. Apartments are dug into the hill - they are really spacious and clean and quiet- good beds and great space....we loved them. Slept until 9.30am without stirring. The pool was a welcome relief in 40+ degree heat.The BBQ area is a great place to sit and look out over the desert. Found Tony and Linda really friendly and easy to deal with. Would recommend them to anyone. While not in town they are walking distance to town...if it's not 43 degrees!!!

Room Tip: Any room is fine - as you're underground they are all very cool and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quikmanblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

We stayed at Desert View late September 2011, two families from Dalby Qld.
A welcome interlude from a camper trailer holiday/trek. Tony, Linda and little Lilly warm and inviting couldn't do enough to ensure our comfort, relaxed humorous manner suited all of us. We thoroughly enjoyed sharing stories.
Tony's recommendation for Pizza was delish, and Linda's suggestion of outlet to purchase opal - just perfect. Both Mums departed Coober Pedy with lovely trinkets. We had too the pleasure of a brief carpark discussion with a local policewoman who also gave her suggestions for must see sights.
We didn't allow enough time on our itinery, so welcome the idea that we will just need to return in the future, and look forward to the prospect of staying at Desert View again.
We have shared many stories since returning home and all talk of our Coober Pedy experience and thoroughly recommend Desert View Apartments for an uncomplicated value stay.
Thankyou we have great memories of our holiday and we have photos to match too.

To Dear Linda, Tony and Lilly, Happy New Year wishing you continuing success and hoping Desert View is at full occupancy.

Regards Deb Maunder (on behalf of Nobbs and Maunder families Dalby Qld)

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Stayed at Desert View in a 2 bedroom apartment which was extremely clean with lovely soft fluffy towels and a comfortable bed at a reasonable price. Tony and Linda couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. Tony's recommendation of Johns Pizza Bar was spot on. Apartment had everything we needed. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louiselovesholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coober Pedy hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
0.6 mi away
Desert Cave Hotel
Desert Cave Hotel
#6 of 7 in Coober Pedy
240 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Opal Inn
Opal Inn
#7 of 7 in Coober Pedy
142 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mud Hut Motel
Mud Hut Motel
#2 of 7 in Coober Pedy
269 reviews
1.3 mi away
Underground Bed & Breakfast
Underground Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Coober Pedy
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert View Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert View Apartments

Address: Shaw Pl, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Coober Pedy
#5 Family Hotel in Coober Pedy
#5 Romantic Hotel in Coober Pedy
Price Range: $94 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert View Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Desert View Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Coober Pedy
Coober Pedy Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing