We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Desert View Apartments Coober Pedy - An excellent family destination with a twist - its underground!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desert View Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Desert View Apartments
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Coober Pedy
Certificate of Excellence
Sale, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Desert View Apartments Coober Pedy - An excellent family destination with a twist - its underground!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

Rented a very reasonably priced two bedroom self contained underground apartment as a break from the caravan on a three month family touring holiday. Very spacious and excellent value. The owners, Tony and Linda were very friendly and provided excellent advice as to things to do and places to shop (for opals of course) in the area. Highly recommended, a great family style establishment..

Room Tip: Make Tony an offer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeyandCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    47
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
58
39
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

Stayed here in the height of summer with 45 deg C plus temperatures and while the dugouts are fairly constant in temperature they were very much on the warm side!! Portable fan supplied for the loungeroom but the ceiling fans in the bedrooms were unbelievably noisy and sleep was hopeless until I finally turned them off and went and got the portable fan. The apartment really needs some form of airconditioning - I believe they have some apartments with aircon - make sure you request this if you are travelling in hot weather. Other than that the rooms were well equipped and clean but very stuffy and smelly. The lounges looked good but were very uncomfortable in my opinion. I have stayed here a total of 4 times over the last couple of years and I think I will try somewhere else next time. Disappointing.

Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank dwelleroftheforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

Fantastic! Appartments clean & welcoming, owners so friendly & helpful with handy information & discount vouchures for many of the Coober Pedy attractions. Including John's Pizza Bar which have the best pizza's.
The swimming pool is clean and very welcome after a long drive or a busy days sight seeing......
Make sure to call ahead and book as this property is fast becoming popular!
We look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

have stayed at the desert view on my last 2 holidays driving to the nt, plenty of room in these 2 bedroom apartments,to unwind after a long drive,great if you have kids.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nhene64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stawell, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2008

we originally booked into the motel next door which double booked the room in error, so this was the next best option after a 750km drive.
although the reception was efficient and friendly to a degree i was disappointed that there were no recommendations about sightseeing options, no info available in the apartment either.
the apartment was self contained minus a sharp knife or a colander. despite the notices to conserve water and energy the tap was leaking and the frying pan was not suitable for an electric stove as the bottom was not flat and therefore not making proper contact with the cooking surface.
the lounge room was exceptionally sparsely furnished with just a worn out lounge, table and TV. Two bedrooms made 5 sleeping spaces available but weren't exactly clean, neither was the bathroom.
overall it was a tired looking apartment with chipped furniture and certainly not worth the $100 AU paid for.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank KissMiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coober Pedy hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
0.6 mi away
Desert Cave Hotel
Desert Cave Hotel
#6 of 8 in Coober Pedy
3.5 of 5 stars 191 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mud Hut Motel
Mud Hut Motel
#2 of 8 in Coober Pedy
4.5 of 5 stars 212 reviews
2.2 mi away
Venushill B&B
Venushill B&B
#3 of 4 in Coober Pedy
4.0 of 5 stars 7 reviews
1.3 mi away
Underground Bed & Breakfast
Underground Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Coober Pedy
5.0 of 5 stars 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert View Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert View Apartments

Property: Desert View Apartments
Address: Shaw Pl, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Coober Pedy
#5 Family Hotel in Coober Pedy
#5 Romantic Hotel in Coober Pedy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert View Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Desert View Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Coober Pedy
Coober Pedy Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing