We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cute kanagaroo” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Josephine's Gallery & Kangaroo Orphanage

Josephine's Gallery & Kangaroo Orphanage
Ranked #5 of 18 things to do in Coober Pedy
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Josephine's Gallery is a 'MUST SEE' whilst in Coober Pedy. Wander through the impressive ABORIGINAL ART GALLERY, play a DIDGERIDOO, choose a beautiful OPAL from our extensive range or KISS A KANGAROO. Our passion is raising orphaned kangaroos and we offer you the opportunity to see these amazing creatures up close and maybe even hold a baby. Feeding times daily at 12 noon and 5:30pm. Don't be late!
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“cute kanagaroo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

it place was pretty cute a savvy the kanagaroos are very cute and nice and the people that run this place very easy going and its nice to donate a gold coin

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank booby c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    54
    15
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Do not miss seeing this when in Coober Pedy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

What a fabulous thing this family does for our kangaroos and orphaned joeys! Such dedication in providing a safe life to the animals. Highly recommend a visit to this gallery!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Il
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Do not miss when in Coober Pedy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

It has been a while since my visit to Josephine's and not a day goes by without thinking about the time spent there. What Josephine and Terry are doing for these orphaned kangaroos is beyond amazing. Visiting with the kangaroos is awesome. Petting, feeding and just watch these beautiful animals is unforgettable. Yes you can by aboriginal art and opals in the store but for me it is visiting with the kangaroos that will always be in my heart and mind.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank PumpkinsGrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
570 reviews
257 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Rescue & Sanctuary”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

Spent a fun hour and a half here watching the several rescued 'roos enjoying their afternoon meal. One was only about 5 or 6 months old who was brought in by people who noticed its mother had been killed on a highway.

This rescue is more a charitable organization than formal attraction and the main purpose of the store is to raise money to support the feeding and care of the rescued 'roos. Nonetheless, they have items there not seen elsewhere and it's good to know the profits are well used.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kairho1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yet another must-do in Coober Pedy !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

The only way you can actually pet and help feed a joey ! Quite an exotic experience when you come from a place (France in my case), where the only way you get to see kangaroos is through the odd pix in textbooks !

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank patricia a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Josephine's Gallery & Kangaroo Orphanage also viewed

Coober Pedy, South Australia
Coober Pedy, South Australia
 
Coober Pedy, South Australia
Coober Pedy, South Australia
 

Been to Josephine's Gallery & Kangaroo Orphanage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing