We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travelling through”

John's Pizza Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in Coober Pedy
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: John's Pizza Bar and Restaurant is a multi award winning establishment, which is a licensed, café - style, al-fresco restaurant located in the outback South Australian Town of Coober Pedy, which specializes in providing locals and visitors alike with high quality, affordable, dining and service.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Travelling through”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We met a family whilst camped at Warburton who, when they heard we were passing through Coober Pedy on the way back to Perth, recommended we eat at John's.
We thoroughly enjoyed our pizzas and wine. Very tasty toppings and well priced.
Had we stayed longer we would have gone back again. Thoroughly recommend you eat at John's if in Coober Pedy.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 120CMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    394
    301
    101
    21
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great value and atmosphere”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

WE were staying in Coober Pedy and we were intending to go to Tom and Mary's greek restaurant. This was closed and John's had been recommended to us by the hotel. It was very friendly, busy, quick service, Ok wine list and good food. On the strength of this we ate there again 10 days later on our way back to Adelaide

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruthh58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Great food, great Yiros with home made pitta bread, gigantic pizzas, good coffee, beautifull examples of Indiginous Art.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank relaxinagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“So good we went twice”
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

We had heard about Johns pizza and were told that it's the best pizza in Australia. Well we ordered 3 medium pizzas ..... They were huge! Excellent quality and value... Got a box to take the left overs away.
Night 2 ( we booked a table just to make sure) we went back and had the parmajarma's.... Again they were huge. The staff were friendly and honest about meal sizes so that we didn't over order.

Don't be put off by the curb appeal of this place... We walked up and down the road and every other restaurant was dead.... Johns was packed!

Helpful?
Thank Outback2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great variety”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Diverse menu , generally quick and efficient
Good food
Gets busy at times
Decor rather drab and basic .

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John's Pizza Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Coober Pedy, South Australia
Coober Pedy, South Australia
 
Coober Pedy, South Australia
Coober Pedy, South Australia
 

Been to John's Pizza Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing