We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Arid Areas Day Tours
Ranked #2 of 7 Tours in Coober Pedy
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We were after a tour that would give us an appreciation of the area, rather than just focus on "tourist" sites. We contacted Arid Area Tours and Wayne tailored something for us. We visited the Breakaways, saw the dingo fence, some of the town highlights including an underground church, the golf course, and the one of a kind "Harry's house". We were also able to spend some time learning about opal mining and the scale of the operations around the area. We loved every minute of it. Thank you Wayne for being so accommodating.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lucyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    6
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Informative personalised tour”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Wayne was accommodating to our holiday requests right from the minute I rang to make enquiries. He made stops to keep the teenagers interested and went out of his way to make sure that we had all the photo opportunities we wanted.

With his local knowledge of the area we saw and learnt far more than we would have ever done trying to do the trip to Lake Eyre on our own. He wasn't stringent with the itinerary and was more than happy to variate based on things we saw or mentioned along the way. His love of the local area and passion for sharing what Coober Pedy and surrounds has to offer is infectious.

Anyone that can have teenagers unplugged from technology, interested and not complaining has to be a bit of a miracle worker!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Escaping_the_ratrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent couple of days”
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

What can one say that has not already been said about Wayne and the tours he offers. We booked in Januray with a wish list and left Wayne to organize what would be best. We ended up with a two day round trip out to the Painted Desert, lunch in Oonadatta (great hamburgers), a trip along the Oonadatta Track to William Creek where we stayed overnight (another great meal and company), then out to Lake Eyre and a walk on the famous salt lake. In the afternoon we flew over the Painted Hills and Lake Eyre before heading back to Coober Pedy. Along the way Wayne had given us the history, some interesting stories and a few detours to see another side of this beautiful country we live in plus a couple of beautiful sunsets. On our third day we did a local tour which again was nothing short of excellent. Thankyou Wayne - Definely a highlight of our travels and we will be recommending to others.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Beverley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aridareas, Owner at Arid Areas Day Tours, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
There are a lot more adventures ahead and I am glad you enjoyed our back yard as much as we enjoyed your company
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“The highlight of our stay in Coober Pedy”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We did a Breakaways tour with Wayne and we loved it. Wayne is very knowledgeable about the area and even taylor-made a tour to suit us. Unfortunately a day of rain closed the dirt roads and we were unable to go on the Painted Desert Tour, We will have to come back.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wayne's passion for the area and local knowledge would be hard to beat.”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Our visit to Coober Pedy was an memorable adventure thanks to Wayne. He is genuinely passionate about the area and is eager to share it with visitors. We spent a day with him doing the mail run (not one his normal tours but he will take you anywhere you are interested in going), and brought the place alive. The trip enabled us to get up close and personal" with the environment, towns, history and locals. This is a harsh, unpredictable and unforgiving area but we felt very safe with Wayne. He knows everyone and how to deal with every situation including driving on the challenging "roads". As well as the mail run, he looked after us on both the day before and after - showing us things, taking us places making sure we had what we needed and wer enjoying his town. He issued a open invitiation for us to call him if we needed anything during our stay and meant it. He is a very genuine guy who treated us like VIPs. If you are planning a trip to Cooober Pedy, get in touch with Wayne and tell him what you would like to do. He will do his level best to make it work for you. Thanks for everything Wayne.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank nzaqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arid Areas Day Tours also viewed

Coober Pedy, South Australia
Coober Pedy, South Australia
 
Coober Pedy, South Australia
Coober Pedy, South Australia
 

Been to Arid Areas Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing