We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great tour”

Tom's Working Opal Mine
Ranked #8 of 18 things to do in Coober Pedy
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Working opal mine situated just 500m north of the town along the Stuart Highway. Open 7 days a week. Guided and self guided tours are available at our large underground reception area. See modern day equipment in action while on a guided tour with our experienced tour guides. Both tours are wheel chair accessible! See our showroom where you can buy souvenirs or high quality opal. We aim to give you an experience you will not forget.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Orange, NSW
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

Really good look at a modern working mine and how they do it today, especially since we had just come from the old-timers mine looking at the old way of mining. The guide was really great and showed us lots about the mine and it workings.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    67
    19
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kwinana
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Informative”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Thanks for the education Ben. You explained everything so simply that even I could understand what you were talking about. I thought you handled the children really very well too. You were so patient.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kwinnychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
269 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Informative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

We learned a lot from our visit to Tom's Working Opal Mine even without doing the guided tour (we did the self guided one). Learning about how the miners go about locating the opals to extracting, cleaning and polishing them was truly fascinating. The only downside was the "noodling" which comes complete with millions of flies - but we can't fault Tom's for that!

Definitely a "must do" attraction at Coober Pedy.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NUFCadl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Average experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

Interesting tour and the opal jewellery was at reasonable prices.
The German speaking lady at the desk was really nice.
The tour guide Jimmy didn't let facts get in the way of his commentary as we picked up a few discrepancies along the way.
Just like one of the other reviewers said I do not believe this is still a real working opal mine.
It is being worked, but nowadays as a tourist trap.
Overall the tour was informative enough and it was a nice environment.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ross S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Informative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Recommended by motel (Mud Hut) so we drove over. Just on edge of town Stuart Hwy. The owner took us (my husband & I & 8 year old grandson) on a tour showing us the process & how to look for likely opal bearing areas. It was informative & fun & you can find a souvenier to buy afterwards

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gloria001_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tom's Working Opal Mine also viewed

Coober Pedy, South Australia
Coober Pedy, South Australia
 
Coober Pedy, South Australia
Coober Pedy, South Australia
 

Been to Tom's Working Opal Mine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing