We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“home away from home :-)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Underground Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Coober Pedy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“home away from home :-)”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

After stumbling upon "underground bed and breakfast" the first time in dec.2010 I came back in april 2012.
Now I am back for the 3rd time and I regard this place as my "home" in Coober Pedy.

It is a great unique experience sleeping underground, in rooms dug out from the ground.

Ken and Ana, the hosts, are a very warm and welcoming couple, who put lots of work into their b&b, making us so very welcome and are really good for a "good yarn"....

A bottle of wine upon arrival, a warm shower after a long and dusty drive, laughing and then a soft comfortable bed are the ingredients for a good and restful sleep.

In terms of welcome and service it can give any 5star hotel a good run for their money!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanne994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    15
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
97
153
8
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Ken and Ana have done an amazing job creating an oasis underground. Attention to detail from the decorating to the cleanliness is outstanding. They made us feel very welcome and were very accommodating for our two young children. We stayed two nights and Ana made sure she put a love heart chocolate on the girls bed each morning. They were happy to help with information on site seeing and restaurants we should try or even if you wanted to cook something back at the B&B they had a beautiful kitchen all decked out for you to use.
I would certainly recommend anyone who is looking for accomodation to stay here.
Thanks Ken and Ana we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eklinberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We chose to stay at the underground B and B after reading the great reviews on trip advisor. After staying there I had to add our own review. It was beautiful. Anna and Ken are genuine, friendly, helpful, an all round gorgeous couple. The newly dug out room was immaculate, tastefully decorated and cool. The attention to detail exceeded our expectations. I would definately recommend staying there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

A very friendly and comfortable place to stay. The room we had was very comfortable & immaculately clean, the common areas such as lounge and dining area had everything we needed and the hosts were very friendly & helpful with advice on things to do. I highly recommend this to couples or families - it will be the highlight of your stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Was recommended to stay here by work colleagues as they raved about the place and the friendliness of the owners. Our high expectations were exceeded! Was a gem in the desert. Love the little touches of choccies and wine on arrival. Ken and Anna are lovely people. We will definitely come again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Stayed here after being recommended by a co-worker and exceeded expectations. We stayed in the recently built rooms at the venue which are fantastic, well decorated, comfortable, cool and just a joy to stay in. From the moment we arrived we were treated really well and could not have been happier with the service or venue. Have previously stayed at other hotels in Coober Pedy and normally are not B&B type people but there's no way we'll stay anywhere else other than the Underground in future. A real oasis in the middle of Coober Pedy. Anyone traveling to or through Coober should absolutely stay there if they want great service, air conditioned rooms, a comfy bed and great experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in the newer rooms which were awesome, the older rooms still looked good though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelpants1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ceduna
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Beautiful and peaceful, lovely and clean. Ana and Ken perfect hosts, would recommend to anybody who wants to experience sleeping underground. The kitchen was well equipped, with plenty of breakfast food. Eventhough the temperature was 44 above ground it was a pleasant 23 underground in our room

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coober Pedy hotels
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
1.3 mi away
Desert View Apartments
Desert View Apartments
#5 of 7 in Coober Pedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
1.3 mi away
Desert Cave Hotel
Desert Cave Hotel
#6 of 7 in Coober Pedy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
1.1 mi away
Down to Erth B &B
Down to Erth B &B
#2 of 4 in Coober Pedy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mud Hut Motel
Mud Hut Motel
#2 of 7 in Coober Pedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Underground Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Underground Bed & Breakfast

Property: Underground Bed & Breakfast
Address: Lot 1647 Potch Gly, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Coober Pedy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Underground Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Underground Bed and Breakfast is a five bedroom four bathroom underground home, with its own private entrance. It boasts a lovely undercover parking, barbecue area and spa. Continental breakfast is supplied. The master bedrooms boasts an en-suite while the other two share the main bathroom. There is a Home theatre, television and Internet access. Only 1.5Km from center of town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Underground Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing