We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What an experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Underground Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Coober Pedy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What an experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

This boutique B & B was a real haven. The rooms were spotless and ours was brightly furnished. The hosts had left the motel in the capable hands of friends, Deb and Harry, who made us very welcome and shared their passion for the area with us. Having breakfast outside on the verandah was a perfect beginning to the day, book-ended by the beautiful sunset from the same spot. The hosts suggested and organised tours, which were simply amazing. A trip with Radeka's to the Breakaways and Crocodile Harry's was a real highlight. Fabulous accommodation.This was the highlight of our trip.

Room Tip: We were in room 7. Fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marzipan_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    15
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
96
153
8
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

The Underground b&b is a place that I will always remember for all the right reasons. The rooms were spotless and beautifully decorated and every conceivable traveller's need was considered and catered for, and we were very grateful to find chocolates and wine awaiting us upon arriving after a very long drive. Set amongst a beautiful panoramic view of coober pedy, the b&b was a tranquil oasis best appreciated from the spa area in the excellent company of our hosts, Ana and Ken. These two wonderful people went to extraordinary lengths to ensure our stay was comfortable and happy and I will never forget the wonderful hospitality that they showed us. My only regret was that we could not stay longer- simply a wonderful place!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise Flourentzou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2011

You never know what you will find on your first visit to a B & B. We were pleasantly surprised on our initial "discovery" of this one. So much so we came back a year later. The hosts are great; friendly, welcoming, helpful yet unobtrusive. The accomodation is unique, clean, private, spacious and comfortable. Looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S0lanum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peebles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in all - two on way to Uluru & Alice Springs & one on way back. Well worth extra day going as we had a wonderful all day tour with Ken. Couldn't believe how much there was to see in & around a small Outback town. Ken & Ana were great hosts & we immediately felt right at home - welcome bottle of wine after long road journey from Adelaide with extra stress of nearly running out of fuel - Don't forget to fill up in Glendambo as there are no more petrol stations between there & Coober Pedy!

Room Tip: We loved our en-suite double but other rooms looked very nice as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

We were really impressed with our stay at 'The Underground B&B' in Coober Pedy. Ken & Ana were the perfect hosts, helpful, very informative, knowledgable and friendly but not intrusive. The facilities and amenities were fabulous, there was everything we could have wanted and more. We could cook or BBQ if we wanted and eat indoors or out. We would have loved to have stayed longer if we had been able to. We will definitely return and highly recommend a stay with them.

Room Tip: A travelling family with young kids would be best to ask for rooms 2 and/or 3 allowing them access t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whyalla, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

Great space for a family, group of friends or a master room with ensuite for couples - the most luxurious way to experience underground accommodation. Modern, warm & welcoming with all the facilities. Outdoor spa in an undercover bbq area. Reasonably priced for a couple staing in main room with ensuite.

Room Tip: Couples - choose the room with the ensuite. Much more comfortable having your own bathroom and it ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

Ana hosted our group to William Creek for a transfer to Fly over Lake Eyre and we stayed at the Underground B& B that night. The service, experience & personalities of both Ana & Ken was the highlight of our 14 day roadtrip from Perth - Brisbane and their local knowledge opened our eyes to things we would have otherwise missed. A terrific couple with a fantastic B&B, equipped with a covered area to relax in adjoining the B&B meant there were many areas to retreat to for conversation/eating or relaxation. The B&B Accommodation was 5 star. The Service was 100 stars! Do yourself a favour and book a tour with ANDO tours & stay at the Underground B& B if you are headed out to Coober Pedy. Kylie

Room Tip: Look on the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kylie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coober Pedy hotels
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
1.3 mi away
Desert View Apartments
Desert View Apartments
#5 of 7 in Coober Pedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
1.3 mi away
Desert Cave Hotel
Desert Cave Hotel
#6 of 7 in Coober Pedy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
1.1 mi away
Down to Erth B &B
Down to Erth B &B
#2 of 4 in Coober Pedy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mud Hut Motel
Mud Hut Motel
#2 of 7 in Coober Pedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Underground Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Underground Bed & Breakfast

Property: Underground Bed & Breakfast
Address: Lot 1647 Potch Gly, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Coober Pedy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Underground Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Underground Bed and Breakfast is a five bedroom four bathroom underground home, with its own private entrance. It boasts a lovely undercover parking, barbecue area and spa. Continental breakfast is supplied. The master bedrooms boasts an en-suite while the other two share the main bathroom. There is a Home theatre, television and Internet access. Only 1.5Km from center of town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Underground Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing