We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bug Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort
Reviewed October 9, 2010

We were travelling from a drag meeting with my crew and children when we went into the rooms there were beetles in the room over 100 we went to complain when we did the staff made us feel bad for complaining even we paid $150 for a room with a mattress thrown on the bug floor they reluctantly gave us some bug spray and a dust pan we would have went else where but it was late and we had a large truck and trailer and it was too hard to move the kids slept in the truck and i will be complaining in the morning and also the smoke detector has been removed and covered with paper
keep driving past this one!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dragracer133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 296 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2010

Be very careful when choosing this caravan park. It was not a 4 star and the cabins are motel rooms. They are average to small rooms with no cooking facilities you have to use the outside kitchen and this does not have a microwave. We put our family of five in one room and I paid the price for the children but then had to pay extra for another mattress to be brought in and also extra for the linen and it ended up being and expensive stay.It says the rooms are with or without linen but I was told I couldnt use my own linen. We spent two nights climbing over each other as there was no room to move, if we had known they were motel rooms we would have booked in elsewhere to a real cabin.The lady at the front desk was not impressed when I asked to have a look at the room before we booked in. I thought this was quite an acceptable request and the young girl in the front desk was very rude when I had concerns about the extra charges. The whole of Coober Pedy was booked out and that was the only reason we stayed.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trinnie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

This is a comfortable caravan park but certainly not the 4-Star it somehow wangled. Very busy in June and full each night. No taps available for caravan connection. Rubbish not collected frequently and bottles overflowing. Toilets are closed for 3 hours each day for cleaning (rude). You pay for everything, water for the caravan, showers, BBQ, hot water for washing up. Yes we understand there is a problem obtaining water in the town. Fees $27 for 2 people in powered site whereas latest RACV book gives them as $20. Maintenance very lacking in the Gents toilet, only half the lights working, and most hooks/hangars in toilets showers missing and not replaced. Girl in office permanently on phone to boyfriend and regarded our arriving as a distraction. BUT that having been said, camp was quiet at night and our space was generous, and we were comfortable. And the shower was good and hot once paid for. Suggest downgrade to 2.5 to 3 stars.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank DavidHogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2010

Because we were driving for 850km, my husband and I decided to hire a cabin in a caravan park for a much needed rest at the end. We requested a cabin at Stuart Range, which is the type of accommodation we have sought all over Australia. This usually provides us with a comfortable lounge couch or chairs, and cooking facilities that allows us to maintain our individual diets. If we didn't want cooking facilities, we could book a room in a motel. Although I booked 500 km ahead, when we arrived we were not booked in and the staff were critical of their colleagues. They did not mention the camp kitchen and by the time we read about it, we had already been out to buy food. We were amazed to find that the 'cabin' at Stuart Range was nothing more than a very basic room with an ensuite. As a cabin it did not supply cooking facilities, or comfortable seating. As a motel room, it did not provide the nicety of bedside tables, comfortable seating or bedside lights. The TV was so high it was difficult to watch. The bed linen was placed on the unmade bed and the fridge and air con not turned on. The advertising is misleading for Australian travellers who understand what a cabin is.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank najneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2010

During low season, the owners close down the larger shaded area and pile up all campers in a small cramped courtyard. We were assigned a narrow slot between a bunch of raucous teenagers and a large camper which kept its noisy air conditionning on all night.
To make things worse, the edge of the courtyard was lined up with plastic bags and other garbage items blown by the wind.
Lights in the bathroom automatically turned off after a few minutes.
Do yourself a favor: try one of the other campgrounds in town!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DemainDeslAube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2009

After the long drive down from the Red Centre we were looking for somewhere cheap to spend the night in Coober Pedy. Having been camping for over a week an exhausted from driving 1000km we splashed out on a real bed getting a basic 'cabin' (hotel room actually!) at the Stuart Range park. For $75 it was good value (BYO linen) for a private room with ensuite, aircon, TV and small fridge. It was clean and there though we didnt need it, a good pool, laundry and camp kitchen for campers / caravans. One of the best bits about this place is the ajoined Pizza Bar. Family Pizza for $20 with the Lot (Yani's Special)... awesome. As I said the 'cabins' are actually hotel style rooms, clean and well appointed for the budget traveller. Considering the price of most things in central Australia its a good find.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zalgariath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Marcus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartRange, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coober Pedy hotels
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
0.8 mi away
Desert Cave Hotel
Desert Cave Hotel
#6 of 7 in Coober Pedy
252 reviews
1.3 mi away
Desert View Apartments
Desert View Apartments
#5 of 7 in Coober Pedy
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
0.6 mi away
Mud Hut Motel
Mud Hut Motel
#2 of 7 in Coober Pedy
273 reviews
0.5 mi away
Opal Inn
Opal Inn
#7 of 7 in Coober Pedy
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort

Address: Hutchison Street | P.O. Box 345, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Coober Pedy
Price Range: $117 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort is a 4 star park located just off the Stuart highway on Hutchison Street in Coober Pedy, a unique Opal mining town in the Far North of South Australia. Once here visitors can expect a variety of accommodation including powered and unpowered camping and caravan sites, 4.5 star Superior 1 & 2 bedroom apartments constructed using red Cedar joinery and all fitted with modern fixtures and stainless steel kitchen appliances. Our Standard rooms (soon to be renovated) are basic motel rooms that are most popular as an overnight stay. We have a camp kitchen, laundry and amenity block and offer guided bus Tours of the town, magnificent Breakaways, underground attractions and surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing