We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst of the 14 campgrounds we stayed at in Australia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort
Reviewed February 1, 2010

During low season, the owners close down the larger shaded area and pile up all campers in a small cramped courtyard. We were assigned a narrow slot between a bunch of raucous teenagers and a large camper which kept its noisy air conditionning on all night.
To make things worse, the edge of the courtyard was lined up with plastic bags and other garbage items blown by the wind.
Lights in the bathroom automatically turned off after a few minutes.
Do yourself a favor: try one of the other campgrounds in town!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DemainDeslAube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
There are newer reviews for BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 275 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2009

After the long drive down from the Red Centre we were looking for somewhere cheap to spend the night in Coober Pedy. Having been camping for over a week an exhausted from driving 1000km we splashed out on a real bed getting a basic 'cabin' (hotel room actually!) at the Stuart Range park. For $75 it was good value (BYO linen) for a private room with ensuite, aircon, TV and small fridge. It was clean and there though we didnt need it, a good pool, laundry and camp kitchen for campers / caravans. One of the best bits about this place is the ajoined Pizza Bar. Family Pizza for $20 with the Lot (Yani's Special)... awesome. As I said the 'cabins' are actually hotel style rooms, clean and well appointed for the budget traveller. Considering the price of most things in central Australia its a good find.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zalgariath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank CamperMan09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartRange, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuartrange, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
Thank KI_expert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuartrange, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Carolin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuartrange, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank WvdL2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuartrange, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coober Pedy hotels
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
1.3 mi away
Desert View Apartments
Desert View Apartments
#5 of 7 in Coober Pedy
190 reviews
0.8 mi away
Desert Cave Hotel
Desert Cave Hotel
#7 of 7 in Coober Pedy
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
0.5 mi away
Opal Inn
Opal Inn
#6 of 7 in Coober Pedy
137 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mud Hut Motel
Mud Hut Motel
#2 of 7 in Coober Pedy
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort

Address: Hutchison Street (Just off the Stuart Highway) | P.O. Box 345, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Coober Pedy
Price Range: $118 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort is a 4 star park located just off the Stuart highway on Hutchison Street in Coober Pedy, a unique Opal mining town in the Far North of South Australia. Once here visitors can expect a variety of accommodation including powered and unpowered camping and caravan sites, 4.5 star Superior 1 & 2 bedroom apartments constructed using red Cedar joinery and all fitted with modern fixtures and stainless steel kitchen appliances. Our Standard rooms (soon to be renovated) are basic motel rooms that are most popular as an overnight stay. We have a camp kitchen, laundry and amenity block and offer guided bus Tours of the town, magnificent Breakaways, underground attractions and surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing