We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok camping with great pizza's”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Ok camping with great pizza's”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on our way back from Uluru.. The park was ok, it's nothing special but the pizza here is amazing (I'm not really a pizza lover).. The park was clean but there is not much to look at, however, it's a good stop over between places or for a day or two.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bec L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    89
    47
    20
    12
See reviews for
54
126
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed here in a tent on our way down south, then our way home a month later. The park was way better than expected. Our thoughts:

Pros:
-Friendly staff
-Beautiful newly renovated amenities block and camp kitchen that were so good I wanted them in my own home! There was even a huge flatscreen tv in there.
- Pizzas (and drinks) available on site which were just delicious
- Pet friendly
- Well priced

Cons:
- About 10/15 dirty empty wheelie bins sitting out the front of camp kitchen. Surely there is a more inconspicuous place you could put them?
- Caravan park isn't very big. I imagine it would be just too busy in the peak tourist season.
- No water in pool

Overall we were happy with our stays there. Also as a side note it is all gravel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseMaxiMaxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

We stayed at Stuart Range caravan park for a couple of nights to explore Coober Pedy and again on our way back from Alice Springs. It is a great play to stay and as we were "weary travellers" we treated ourselves to pizza on both stays. Pizza's were fantastic, caravan park facilities clean and no problem with water. We appreciate the town is in an arid area and 20c for a shower is not an issue. Staff were friendly and very helpful with info on what to see while in town and recommend this park to anyone heading to Coober Pedy.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuartrange, Manager at BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thanks for the great review, we aim to please. Happy travels and all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Centre, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

arrived in the middle of Summer 40dg... NO pool / pool not open. Would have been nice to be advised of this upon booking or before paying at check in, standard room ok for over night tiny TV ! Fridge not turned on ! Beds made with sheets only and doona folded under pillows ??? I thought Big 4 property's had a standard to meet ?

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuartrange, Manager at BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you for your review.
I understand your disappointment with us not having our pool open for use. We are equally frustrated that the pool can not be used, I would love a dip and happy customers of course.
If we had a choice we would open it.
The truth is last year we experienced ground movement which in turn cracked our pool, we felt it was unsafe. As we live in the Outback sometimes it takes longer to get specialized professionals out here. We are now awaiting structural engineers who are due up here next week and we hope to understand the situation better.
We have stated on our website that the pool was closed for maintenance, we have not tried to hide the situation.
On arrival our receptionists would have told you that the pool was not in use. If this did not occur then I sincerely apologize.
Once you had paid, we would have happily refunded your money if you where not happy with the pool being closed
We have just joined the BIG4 in the last couple of months, an organisation that we are proud to be apart of.
In the last 7 years we have totally rebulit/replaced the park facilities from what was built in the late 1980's and we have our last project on the go, our standard rooms. The ones you stayed in,
these are currently being renovated to 4 star apartments. These are currently 2.5 star.
These rooms are our budget rooms. We have always kept the linen in such a fashion, neatly stacked as people sometimes travel with their own linen and prefer to use their own. But times do change and so must we.
If you went into our Superior rooms you would have got the royal treatment of 4.5 star luxury.
We pay 110% more for water and power than Adelaide and we do not keep our bar fridges on in the budget rooms. You do pay for what you get. And by doing these saving measures we can keep the costs low for our customers.
We have spent money on these rooms with upgrades to air conditioners in 2011 so we haven't neglected them.
The next time you come through, if you decide to give us a second chance, I'm sure you wont be disappointed with our new rooms, especially with the layout, decor and latest mod con's.
Good things take time and money, and we are grateful to all our guests who indirectly help in the co-creation of our product.
We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Starting with the good. This was one of the few places that didn't charge me extra for an extra child as most room rates are only for 2A& 2C where I have 3children. Lady on the phone in the morning was very helpful and friendly.
The room was what I expected for a caravan park; it was a basic room with a double bed & bunk, table & chairs, sml fridge, kitchenette & ensuite. It was clean, spacious, quite, soft comfy beds and lovely showers.

Now for the negative, no one answered the phone in the afternoon, sure it was a weekend but still annoying. The pool was not in use so the kids weren't happy. The tv is tiny and up high so it's useless as you can't really see the picture.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryriverbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at a several other places on different occasions passing through Coober Pedy and this is one of the better ones. Another good one is the Mud Hut.
The room was clean, spacious, cool and quiet. The decor is circa 1985, but that's quite modern by CP standards! It was pleasant enough anyway and nothing more offensive than exposed brick walls and dusty pink laminex.
It's above ground, so you might want to stay somewhere else for that experience if it's your first time in CP.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Vaughan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights. During our stay, the park was very, very quiet apart from the first night when the Australian army camped here during their travel to/from Darwin. (It was very noisy and difficult to get a shower while the army were at the ground.)

If you use the caravan park as a base to get about and visit things in the region, then this place would suit you fine. The amenities are clean and efficient and it's located in a quiet area so you get a good nights' sleep each night. There is a family room with comfortable chairs and tables and the BBQs are tidy and shaded. I didn't check on the pool.

The downside is that this is not a "resort style" caravan park that many would stay at on their travels. There is no grass and the trees are sparse. There are a few shaded sites (under shade cloth) or you're out on gravel with no concrete slab. Because of this, the park feels stark doesn't have that relaxed feel that other parks do. It has the feel of a quick stay and then out. The sites are quite large (I think) and while there is no water on tap, it is available at 40 litres for $2.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ish113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coober Pedy hotels
1.3 mi away
Desert View Apartments
Desert View Apartments
#5 of 7 in Coober Pedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
0.8 mi away
Desert Cave Hotel
Desert Cave Hotel
#6 of 7 in Coober Pedy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
0.6 mi away
Mud Hut Motel
Mud Hut Motel
#2 of 7 in Coober Pedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radeka Downunder Underground Motel & Backpacker Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort

Property: BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort
Address: Hutchison Street (Just off the Stuart Highway) | P.O. Box 345, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Coober Pedy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort is a 4 star park located just off the Stuart highway on Hutchison Street in Coober Pedy, a unique Opal mining town in the Far North of South Australia. Once here visitors can expect a variety of accommodation including powered and unpowered camping and caravan sites, 4.5 star Superior 1 & 2 bedroom apartments constructed using red Cedar joinery and all fitted with modern fixtures and stainless steel kitchen appliances. Our Standard rooms (soon to be renovated) are basic motel rooms that are most popular as an overnight stay. We have a camp kitchen, laundry and amenity block and offer guided bus Tours of the town, magnificent Breakaways, underground attractions and surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing