We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience(Coober Pedy)(Great Value!)
$147
$141
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel(Coober Pedy)(Great Value!)
$105
$101
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Desert Cave Hotel(Coober Pedy)(Great Value!)
$138
$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mud Hut Motel(Coober Pedy)(Great Value!)
$108
$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Desert View Apartments(Coober Pedy)(Great Value!)
$87
$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Underground Motel(Coober Pedy)(Great Value!)
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Opal Inn(Coober Pedy)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Venushill B&B(Coober Pedy)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Down to Erth B &B(Coober Pedy)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (305)
Filter reviews
305 results
Traveler rating
87
116
61
26
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
87
116
61
26
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspizzacamp kitchenpowered sitecaravan parkgreat parkshade clothhot waterpick your ownshaded areasshower blockone bedroom apartmentwashing machinecoin operated showerstent pegshighly recommend this parkclean amenitiesalice springs
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
267 - 272 of 305 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here on our way to Alice Springs and on the way back. This is the second time we have stayed here - our first being over 10 years ago.

We love this caravan park. Great facilities (especially the kids playground!), beautiful pizza restaurant on site, well equipped camp kitchen and plenty of sites.

As many others have pointed out, water is scarce - so there was no water connection on the site. We had a lot of problems with the showers on the way up...we'd put our 20c in and we had tepid water at the most (ending up using around $1 )). Considering I was trying to shower to young children at the time I wasn't overly happy, BUT when we stayed on the way back signs had been put up in the amentities block stating that benches were being installed soon (YAY!) and that if you put your 20c in and you have no hot water you have to go and turn on the tap at the sink to "kick in" the solar hot water service.

A few other guests and I were discussing this trying to work out how we could do that when a) you are in the middle of a shower and you have to race out and turn on the hot water at the basin and b) you are using up your "paid water" while you are running out to try and get the hot water going. While I was there, a lady stuck her head out of the shower asking if by any chance I had some spare 20c pieces as she had put 60c in and no hot water - even after turning on the taps at the basins. Luckily I did, and I turned on a few of the sinks while she jumped back in (poor lady had just shampooed her hair and hadn't rinsed it out!). Hopefully this will be rectified soon. Apparently (according to my husband) the mens are fine!


If they can sort out the above problem we'd highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank _Paj_and_Palace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuartrange, Manager at BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Hi,
Thankyou for your review.
We had been looking into this issue at the time.
We have a new solar hot water service and in the mornings you need to let the water run to get hot water, like most households do. This ignites the instantaneous gas hot water.
All the showers run from the same service ally so men's and woman's are the same, but if you go into the first shower the water has further to run to, so it may seem to take along time.

Since your stay we have fixed this issue. But first thing in the morning the water needs to run a bit to get hot like any household.

Kind regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

After some strong recommendations, we took a family and whilst somewhat reminiscent of the 1970's, the standard room was functional, tidy, clean, but very small. A bit unorganised, with no record of our booking which was made over the phone, but still represented the best value we had seen between Coober Pedy and Uluru. The pizzas were reasonable, and good value for a family. There was an extreme difference between the standard rooms and the new suites.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B_WMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

A beautifully renovated park, but we were told as with all other parks in Coober Pedy, there were no taps for sites. Quality water was available in one spot to fill tanks. The toilet dump had no tap and the baby bath was out of order. Showers cost 20c for 2 min but you could have water as long as you wanted. Some people liked the showers; others did not. They had no seat, only 2 small hooks and it was hard to clean your lower half, due to the water spout design. The owners were trying hard to make a pristine park, so an instruction sign for the showers may have helped. It is worth staying at this park, but for mums with a baby it could be an issue. However, the playground is great.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank DawnMarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed here for five nights in the caravan park - staff were friendly on arrival. You only have power on site however water is readily available from the camp kitchen. Some sites had shade cloth but 'first in best dressed' for these. Liked the idea of having all facilities central and sites surrounding same. Showers had plenty of hot water even with paying. Only issue we had was it would have been nice to have a little bench in the shower for cloths etc and a mop to do the floor at the end. Pizza restaurant on site - really nice. Happy to recommend and stay again.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Beverley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuartrange, Manager at BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Hi,
Thankyou for reviewing our park.
We have had to open our new ammenities block without the benches in the shower area. We will get these installed by June though, and mop is a good idea.
Im happy you enjoyed everything else.
All the best

The Stuart Range Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed here for one night to break the trip from Adelaide to Alice Springs. While the reception staff were very pleasant the room was very disappointing. On entering the room we discovered that you have to make your own bed - the linen was folded up waiting. The towels were the size of postage stamps and quite worn. The fitted sheet on one of the bunk beds was badly stained. The saggy double ensemble had two broken castors which made it even saggier - my husband ended up sleeping in one of the single bunks as the weight of two people on the double bed was more than it could bear. Most frustrating was the fact that although a mini fridge is supplied it was not turned on - we had phoned 5 hours previously to book the room so they knew we were coming, surely it could have been turned on when the linen was delivered.
The television was prehistoric and absolutely tiny - we didn't bother turning it on as we could clearly hear the programmes and conversations of guests in the adjacent rooms, and they weren't turned up loud or yelling.
At $99 per night it is not an expensive place and I would imagine that majority of their guests are 1 nighters only but this is still no excuse for simply rectified problems.

Positives - the split system air conditioner looked almost brand new and worked very effectively and the on site Pizza Bar do great pizzas.

Room Tip: I belive some of the rooms may have been updated but not sure to what extent and whether they cost more. We were not offered a choice when booking.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuartrange, Manager at BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Hi,
Thankyou for writing a review on our park. You are so right about the standard rooms, and we are doing something about this, we are actually commencing $1 million refurbishment to these rooms in June. This will make these rooms 4*star apartments, a project we are most excited about.
Over the last few years have we have had extensive renovations to our property to transform it into a premium accomodation business. Our apartments built in 2010 are well liked and I'm surprised you were'nt given your options when booking. I'll mention this to staff.
Do join us again when you pop through, we are a work in progress. All the best with your future travels.
Kind Regards
The Stuart Range Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews