We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dont go in winter, freezing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“dont go in winter, freezing”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Well, we stayed for just one night on our way from adelaide to darwin. not a good start to holiday. I had been perfectly healthy person when i left home. It could be coincidence, but after staying in this freezing place we got to alice the next day and suddenly came down with chills and something else, not quite sure, but felt really crook. The quilts that had not quilt in them, so i had towels over us, then the heater that i had on all night was near to roof. Guess what heat rises. TV was ancient. I have already told other people not to stay here. We paid 105 and they had prob. 20 rooms. lot of money coming in but not a lot spent putting back in to place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ALISON P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuartrange, Manager at BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Im terribly sorry you had a dreadful stay with us, that was most unfortunate. If you had come to the office we would have given you extra linen to keep you warm.
You will be pleased to know we have spent money on our standard rooms and they all have new split system air conditioners. We will be renovating these standard rooms over the next 12months, so they'll more comfortable, these rooms are currently 2.5 star rated and we have never claimed them to be any more, they are clean although tired, they where built 24 years ago.
If you want to give us another go next time you might like the 4.5 star superior apartments and they come with all the mod cons and extra blankets in the wardrobes. Check out our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    92
    49
    21
    12
See reviews for
57
132
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

The standard rooms are an absolute cesspit. Found mouse crap in plain view on a bunk bed and rang the manager who tried to tell us the droppings were a year old and it was ok there was no mouse.They’ve got a mouse problem and know about it and are just letting them run amok. After being given no real option or compensation by the difficult manager who was unapologetic the filth kept coming. A dirty old band-aid was found stuck on top of the shower. The towels smelt like dirty old socks and made you smell like them too before you realised! Buy some freakin’ Cold Power or something! The resident Daddy long-legs spiders seemed to have no problem with the state of the room though! The bed was unmade – what a joke. It was a 43 degree day when we arrived and they hadn’t even put the fridge on (every other place does). These people take short-cuts to save a buck. They are in complete denial that there is anything wrong with the hygiene levels they provide but they are quite happy to take your money. They won't care about this review either but at least it will warn other travellers. I have no idea how they got an award and 4 stars! Biggest joke ever. SA Tourism this place needs a major review so it does not mislead more travellers. If only we had seen this site before we stayed!

Room Tip: Ask to view room first before paying
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuartrange, Manager at BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
I have responded to this review by email back in February . We do care.
We have thousands of people come through our park annually and its unfortunate that reviews are posted like this that don't give our park a chance. Everyone has good and bad days and some people are more sensitive than others to the very same situation. Our cleaning staff do their best and we are very happy with the crew we have. We have high standards of hygiene and our staff know what is required. We randomly check rooms for quality assurance. The health inspector checks the park regularly. And we have pest control come twice yearly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goolwa, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

The town of Coober Pedy is magnificently ramshackled, the millions of mounds of spent earth and the jumble of abandoned mining machinery make it like no other place on earth. That is indeed fortunate for the operators of the Stuart Range Caravan Park, for no other place on earth could offer travellers such sub standard 'cabin' style accomodation and get away with it. From the grumpy frumpy receptionist to the cabin rooms with DYI unmade beds and provided bed linen (Actually nylon or some other synthetic material) to the miniscule double beds with very cheap and soft mattresses which glide all over the cracked tiled floor at the slightest movement to the leaking wash hand basin it is a disaster. Everything about the place is cheap and geared to a quick profit from travellers. I only stayed there because all other hotel accomodation was booked out. I note in another review that a reviewer talks about bugs, yes there were a lot of them, too many. Perhaps the ill fitting door and ineffective flyscreens were the cause of that problem. At $95 per night I can only assume that Highway Robbery is now legal.

Room Tip: Book into the 'Mud Hut' closer to town if they have a room available. There are no good ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tjumo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eltham, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

The apartment in which we stayed was the best we have ever had at a caravan park anywhere in Australia.All mod cons (in working order) and spotlessly clean The pizzas were delicious and the afternoon tour wih Des was as good as it gets

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellers3095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2011

drove 850km and arrived late in coober pedy and pulled up tho the first place to enquire. Booked a room sight unseen. Room was basic but clean with a hot shower and airconditioning. Linen provided. TV tiney high on the ceiling but we were after a bed and shower. onsite pizzeria which was great the least greasy pizza i have ever had with handmade dough, maybe not the tastiest but well appreciated. Sure this was not 4 star accommodation you can get great rooms in major cities at a price only slightly more that what we paid but this is coober pedy everything is expensive to get here and to maintain

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank molly200033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whyalla
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2010

We were travelling from a drag meeting with my crew and children when we went into the rooms there were beetles in the room over 100 we went to complain when we did the staff made us feel bad for complaining even we paid $150 for a room with a mattress thrown on the bug floor they reluctantly gave us some bug spray and a dust pan we would have went else where but it was late and we had a large truck and trailer and it was too hard to move the kids slept in the truck and i will be complaining in the morning and also the smoke detector has been removed and covered with paper
keep driving past this one!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dragracer133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2010

Be very careful when choosing this caravan park. It was not a 4 star and the cabins are motel rooms. They are average to small rooms with no cooking facilities you have to use the outside kitchen and this does not have a microwave. We put our family of five in one room and I paid the price for the children but then had to pay extra for another mattress to be brought in and also extra for the linen and it ended up being and expensive stay.It says the rooms are with or without linen but I was told I couldnt use my own linen. We spent two nights climbing over each other as there was no room to move, if we had known they were motel rooms we would have booked in elsewhere to a real cabin.The lady at the front desk was not impressed when I asked to have a look at the room before we booked in. I thought this was quite an acceptable request and the young girl in the front desk was very rude when I had concerns about the extra charges. The whole of Coober Pedy was booked out and that was the only reason we stayed.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trinnie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coober Pedy hotels
1.3 mi away
Desert View Apartments
Desert View Apartments
#5 of 7 in Coober Pedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
0.8 mi away
Desert Cave Hotel
Desert Cave Hotel
#6 of 7 in Coober Pedy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
0.6 mi away
Mud Hut Motel
Mud Hut Motel
#2 of 7 in Coober Pedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radeka Downunder Underground Motel & Backpacker Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort

Property: BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort
Address: Hutchison Street (Just off the Stuart Highway) | P.O. Box 345, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Coober Pedy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort is a 4 star park located just off the Stuart highway on Hutchison Street in Coober Pedy, a unique Opal mining town in the Far North of South Australia. Once here visitors can expect a variety of accommodation including powered and unpowered camping and caravan sites, 4.5 star Superior 1 & 2 bedroom apartments constructed using red Cedar joinery and all fitted with modern fixtures and stainless steel kitchen appliances. Our Standard rooms (soon to be renovated) are basic motel rooms that are most popular as an overnight stay. We have a camp kitchen, laundry and amenity block and offer guided bus Tours of the town, magnificent Breakaways, underground attractions and surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing