We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Coober Pedy
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
“Great stay”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

What I was most impressed with was with the owner (I think it was the owner's dad actually). He was friendly and offered us advice on where to go and what to do - told us to visit the Breakaway Rocks and allayed our fears that if our car was to break down, to just give him a call and he will come get us. When we had a bit of trouble with the car, he was helpful and took a look at the car to make sure everything was alright. Also, the room was clean and comfortable, and I would think one should definitely aim to stay underground when visiting Coober Pedy. We also had some really positive interaction with the locals, so we left Coober Pedy with a really good impression of the place and its people.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lookoutcave, Owner at The Lookout Cave Underground Motel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Hi Sophia, firstly, thank you for taking the time to review us, we really do appreciate everyone who has taken the time post comments and recommendations on Tripadvisor for our Motel. I'm only sorry it's taken so long to start responding to so many wonderful comments and posts (not much spare time with a family business :/) Secondly we are even more happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at our establishment and hopefully you get to return to Coober Pedy and stay with us again sometime in the near future. As always...travel safely and enjoy the Outback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    222
    29
    2
    1
See reviews for
156
262
38
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
merimbula
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

To be in cooper pedy it's a must we felt to stay underground. There are all different options but the lookout cave underground motel was our choice and it was marvellous.
Beside very clean white towels and sheet ( hard to come by in a dusty mining town) we enjoyed the sunset from the rooftop and a walk into nearby town instead of having to take the car
Free Internet, great TV reception, coffee and tea facilities and fridge all made our stay special. At 38 degrees outside having a constant temp. of 23 inside the motel was a relief.And it was just soooo quiet.
The owners where lovely and helpfull. We will definitely stay there again on another trip.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barbAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 1, 2014

On the advice of the pilot from William Creek we stayed at the Lookout Cave Motel. Very friendly and welcoming owner. Gave us advice on what was open and what to see during our short stay in Coober Pedy. The rooms are dug out of the side of the hill and are solid rock. A unique experience. I would recommend a stay here during your visit to Coober Pedy

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allanc286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Fell in, tired, dry and very hot from a day in the desert and found the most gentle, lovely people running the most delightful hotel in Australia. They have a perfect location (although hard to find) and 360 degree views that allow perfect pics of sunrise, sunset, the city of Coober Pedy and the desert mirages.

The Underground Experience, the high lookout - well done, a great mix.

Our hosts offered discount coupons to various tourist attractions, a map to unusual and free sites to explore and a feeling that they had been waiting for us all year, even though we arrived without a booking.
Well done!

Room Tip: They are all good - and quiet. Free WiFi available throughout - Enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beau N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

After 6 months on the road this place rates in the top 5 that I've stayed at; that top 5 also includes a 5star hotel!
The 'cave' was clean, comfortable and just right for two nights for a couple. All members of the family who run the place are wonderful , and one can easily feel very welcome here. If I were to return to Coober Pedy I'd definitely go here again. I awarded 9 out of 10 because there is room for improvement; I would have appreciated a better bed; the bed there was a bit saggy. However the latter should not be seen as a complaint, this bed would still be better than the majority of motel beds around Oz.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NotQuiteAWinnebago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2014

fantastic location, well equipped and clean room. Very helpful staff. Great café (John's seafood and Pizza, I think). Definitely stay again and recommend to others. Free wifi also a highlight and worked perfectly.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubbala1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2014

My husband, son and I stayed in a family suite at the Lookout Cave Underground Motel. The coolness inside the motel provided a pleasant escape from the oppressive heat outside. The walls inside our room and in the hallways were totally awesome. The staff were super helpful and friendly. I highly recommend this Coober Pedy motel. The view from the car park was amazing.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coober Pedy hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
0.1 mi away
Desert View Apartments
Desert View Apartments
#5 of 7 in Coober Pedy
183 reviews
0.6 mi away
Desert Cave Hotel
Desert Cave Hotel
#6 of 7 in Coober Pedy
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mud Hut Motel
Mud Hut Motel
#2 of 7 in Coober Pedy
248 reviews
1.3 mi away
Underground Bed & Breakfast
Underground Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Coober Pedy
357 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radeka Downunder Underground Motel & Backpacker Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lookout Cave Underground Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lookout Cave Underground Motel

Property: The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
Address: 1141 McKenzie CL | P.O. Box 79, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Coober Pedy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lookout Cave Underground Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lookout Cave is a family owned and operated Underground Motel, providing guests with a warm &welcoming atmosphere.Located minutes from the town centre the Lookout Cave is situated on a hillside in a secure and quietlocation with views over looking Coober Pedy.The Motel features 18 underground guestrooms including one & two bedroom self-contained units. Allrooms are equipped with a bar fridge, 32” LED TV, kettle, toaster and include a private en-suite with toiletand shower.Immerse yourself with ochre-lit skies across the vast desert landscape that continues as far as the eyecan see.Coober Pedy is a resource of hidden treasures; we encourage you to explore and discover a unique outback experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your The Lookout Cave Underground Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing