We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing. Two bed apartment, place in town.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lookout Cave Underground Motel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Coober Pedy
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing. Two bed apartment, place in town.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

This place is amazing. We stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment for two nights at $200 per night. We had a private patio with spectacular sunset views. The interior was decorated beautifully and the whole place is exceptionally clean and quiet. We had a kitchen, dining area and the biggest softest sofa ever!! The staff were very helpful and friendly. Highly recommend , worth every single cent!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kunegunda2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    215
    27
    2
    1
See reviews for
148
239
37
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012 via mobile

In this motel we already enjoyed the reservation, very friendly and helpful. We chose it because of the Tripadvisor reviews and the prices, which are cheaper than the other Underground motels.

We arrived with the greyhound bus at 5am in the morning, 10 minutes too early. Nick was already waiting for us,and drove us to the motel. Check-in time is usually in the early afternoon,but he lead us straight into our room and we had a great sleep to recover a bit of the journey. If they have space, they always let guests have the room earlier.

The rooms are not big, but with everything you need and space enough to move around without bumping into the other person, including a nice bathroom and decent shower. And you really feel comfortable and not claustrophobic as I feared it might be, without a window. And it is nicely decorated and clean. We were astonished that the property around the house was very pleasant,including large dining table and a corner for kids to play,or to search for Opals.

We did a nice walk around the hill and in the town, which is about 5-10 minutes by walk. Great to see everything, and in the evening we ordered pizza (no,Nick did it for us, as Lebara has never coverage). Great sunset from their property.

And the next day we were brought to the bus at 5.15am again...

Such a great service, you will feel like at home when you stay there.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tigurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

I haven't stayed at the Hotel as yet but I must commend everything so far. Their website is spot on and easy to navigate. I booked in old school style (phone call) and chatted with Nick. An obsolute gem of a bloke. Nothing was too much trouble. Everything explained without me having to ask a load of questions. Can't wait to check out the premises.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JAYTAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

We got in late afternoon after a 10 hour drive. The host was very helpful and this is an amazing motel that is dug into a hill. The rooms are indoors and it maintains a comfortable 23 degrees all year around! Facilities were good and within the centre of town perched on a hill. The lookout behind which you can climb up to via some stairs is the highest in town and is a great place to watch the sunset or sunrise!
Lots of things to see in Coober Pedy. We went to Josephines Gallery that sells indigenous artwork and she also looks after orphaned kangaroos. We did a free feeding at 5:30pm. Lots of opals to buy too!
I would highly recommend this place to stay for something different.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melovenoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

Well first of all, this hotel deserves an award for their website because that was what sold us. The first impression of the place when we drove up was "this is different" and it sure is! You have to see it to believe that you are living in a cave dug out of stone, underground. The facility was perfect for us; clean, spacious and conveniently located. You'll sleep like a log because it's quiet and dark underground. The owners are lovely hosts and a wealth of information for your stay in Coober Pedy. LISTEN to them!!

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to ask if you need something. The owners want you to have a good stay. We asked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank watermelon6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

We really enjoyed our unique underground stay at the Lookout Cave. As we were flying and taking the bus, Nick picked us up at the airport, gave us many ideas for places to visit, arranged an opal mine tour for us, provided us with a tour of the town and area (which was just excellent) and took us to the bus when we left(5:30 am)! A special thanks, Nick. Our room was very clean and pleasant with all we needed including free WiFi. Everyone is so accommodating. The view from the top of the motel was quite spectacular. Just a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArleenKo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

We chose to stay here on our way to Alice Springs. Coober Pedy is just in the middle so a good choice for a stop-over.

You should 't expect much sightseeing but hou do want to consider staying at the Lookout cave. Very friendly people who really want to make an effort to make your stop at Coober Pedy something you want to remember.

Definitely would recommend this to other travellers. In the summer season (until end of Feb) the nights are very warm and difficult to bear on a camping in your tent or campers, so the Lookout Cave is probably a better alternative if your budget allows for it.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YummieYuppie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coober Pedy hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
0.1 mi away
Desert View Apartments
Desert View Apartments
#5 of 7 in Coober Pedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.6 mi away
Desert Cave Hotel
Desert Cave Hotel
#6 of 7 in Coober Pedy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mud Hut Motel
Mud Hut Motel
#2 of 7 in Coober Pedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
1.3 mi away
Underground Bed & Breakfast
Underground Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Coober Pedy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radeka Downunder Underground Motel & Backpacker Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lookout Cave Underground Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lookout Cave Underground Motel

Property: The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
Address: 1141 McKenzie CL | P.O. Box 79, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Coober Pedy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lookout Cave Underground Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lookout Cave is a family owned and operated Underground Motel, providing guests with a warm &welcoming atmosphere.Located minutes from the town centre the Lookout Cave is situated on a hillside in a secure and quietlocation with views over looking Coober Pedy.The Motel features 18 underground guestrooms including one & two bedroom self-contained units. Allrooms are equipped with a bar fridge, 32” LED TV, kettle, toaster and include a private en-suite with toiletand shower.Immerse yourself with ochre-lit skies across the vast desert landscape that continues as far as the eyecan see.Coober Pedy is a resource of hidden treasures; we encourage you to explore and discover a unique outback experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Lookout Cave Underground Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing