We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Down to Erth B &B
Nearby Hotels
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel(Coober Pedy)(Great Value!)
$103
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Desert View Apartments(Coober Pedy)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Desert Cave Hotel(Coober Pedy)
$124
$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Underground Motel(Coober Pedy)(Great Value!)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Mud Hut Motel(Coober Pedy)(Great Value!)
$106
$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Underground Bed & Breakfast(Coober Pedy)(Great Value!)
$110
$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort(Coober Pedy)(Great Value!)
$110
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Oasis Coober Pedy Tourist Park(Coober Pedy)(Great Value!)
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (316)
Filter reviews
316 results
Traveler rating
303
13
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
303
13
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplunge poolwashing machinedown to earththought of everythingroad tripunderground livingmad maxunderground accommodationa wonderful place to stayin townkings canyonunique experienceunderground experiencefriendly hostsunderground homeunder groundthoroughly enjoyed our stay
Filter
Updating list...
299 - 304 of 316 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2009

Wow, what a great place! We stayed with Rose and Alex for one night but wished we could have stayed longer. We received a very warm welcome and instantly felt comfortable. The place itself is one of the most beautiful places we have ever stayed in, really well done, a real credit to Rose and Alex. We left a shirt behind and Rose and Alex were kind enough to post it out to us. We will most definately go back and recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natasha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2009

My wife, Judy and I stayed in Alex and Rose's wonderful underground B&B for 3 nights. Absolutely fantastically constructed and appointed place to stay. It is private, quiet, extremely comfortable. Guests will want for nothing.
Rose even arranged a flight over Lake Eyre for us.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tastelopea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2009

After being in small cabins most of our trip this B&B was great. Being underground it was cool and quiet and very spacious and well furnished. The private pool and outdoor setting with bbq was great and Rose even went shopping for us to get a bbq pack before we arrived! Wine was in the fridge and all the little touches were well taken care of. One of the nicest B&B experiences I have had and to find it in the middle of nowhere (!!) was a blessing. It was hard to leave and hit the hot road again!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catandben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2008

We stayed at Down to Erth B&B while we were visiting Coober Pedy, Australia and loved it. We would have liked to stay here for our entire holiday.It was only 5 minutes out of town, very peaceful and unique. We stayed in this town specifically to experience "underground living".We got underground luxury. This B&B had it all, it was beautifully decorated and clean. It had own private bathroom and laundry facilities. Beautiful romantic setting, wine and chocolate waiting. Lovely deep bath, private pool (in the dessert!).Really lovely breakfast with loads of personal touches.Dvd on town history, local attractions, local eateries and menus.Ours hosts were lovely , friendly, helpful people willing to make our stay a memorable one.We (2 x adults,2 x children) paid $200 per night and it was worth every cent.This was one of only 2 places out of the eight we stayed at that had a seperate bedroom for the kids! Thats worth huge bonus points to me! We love our kids dearly, but this was our first overseas holiday together and I can't believe how many places are literally only offering a "room" to share and not much more!The second place came recommended by these lovely people who totally understood our joy to have our "own" room.We thank you both for a truly wonderful stay.I would recommend this location to anyone, particularly those looking for a romantic getaway as there is heaps of attention to detail here.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corogirl71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2008

We spent a wonderful and unique night at Down to Erth Bed and Breakfast in Coober Pedy. It is a self contained, underground apartment hand built by the owners and is a sheer pleasure to stay in. The tariff is so reasonable with fantastic value for your money. Included is a continental breakfast and we were welcomed with a wonderful bottle of wine and a chocolates! There is a wonderful private plunge pool and a fantastic bbq and seating area. You can even use the telescope to view the stars in the evening!
It is perfect for couples and for families with a kitchenette, large lounge room, bathroom, kids bedroom and a queensize bedroom.
Thank you for creating this wonderful escape so we can all experience the unique underground life.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank HoggieAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews