We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”
Review of Down to Erth B &B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Down to Erth B &B
Ranked #2 of 4 Coober Pedy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2012

What a magical place to stay at!! Very clean and well maintained, with all amenities. Rose and Alex were great hosts and we happy to show us how these houses are made. Would recommend to anyone looking for a underground experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (307)
There are newer reviews for Down to Erth B &B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 307 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2012

Rose and Alec are most welcoming, relaxed people. Alec has dug the accomodation himself which is an amazing job, and Rose loves looking after the place and the guests, many thoughtful attentions all along (home-made fruit compote in the fridge, chocolate and wine, tasty decoration, sieves and shovel available to go opal noodling). The pool and barbecue area is great to cool down, and after that you can watch documentaries about the region on DVD (lake Eyre, Opal fever). Fantastic place to stay, I just didn't want to leave so soon !!
(Also check out Arid Areas tours ! Rose and Alec know the guide Wayne well, and he will pick you up at the B&B to show you the beautiful outback around !)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jessica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

What a terrific place! Comfortable, spotless, and wonderful facilities - the little touches like the wine and chocolates, the teddy bear on the bed, selection of games, laundry facilities, scrumptious breakfast - was just fantastic!

Rose and Alex were terrific hosts - warm and friendly, and able to give us plenty of help with planning what to do and see around town.

We only booked in for one night, and if we'd been able to, we would have changed our plans and stayed longer!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I even had a teddy bear on my bed. As my trip was for work that made it very welcoming and less clinical than a motel room. The dried fruit compote for breakfast was divine and Rose gave me the recipe. How good is that. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We loved the one night stay, the complimentary wine and chocolates was a lovely treat, the dugout was lovely, comfortable beds and very clean and tidy. The experience of staying underground was fantastic. The owners were very friendly and welcoming. We recommend Down to Erth B&B to anyone travelling to Cooper Pedy.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Luke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed for three nights and were amazed by the value for money. The spacious dugout accommodation gave us a definitive underground holiday experience, with privacy, peace and facilities that made us feel very comfortable.

If you fancy a BBQ, want to watch DVDs, browse the web with WiFi or just stretch out on the sofas, it's all here!
The hosts Rosaleigh and Alex are terrific and are very helpful.

Make a booking if you can!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank stu_man33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Loved our 1 night stay here. It was perfect! Everything was very clean and all the small touches added to the magic. It was great sitting out eating dinner on the outdoor setting and the enjoying a dip in the pool. The complimentary wine and choccies also went down well. Highly recommend to anyone visiting Coober Pedy.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank JustAddKidsperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coober Pedy hotels
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
2.4 mi away
Desert View Apartments
Desert View Apartments
#5 of 7 in Coober Pedy
190 reviews
2.3 mi away
Desert Cave Hotel
Desert Cave Hotel
#7 of 7 in Coober Pedy
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
1.1 mi away
Underground Bed & Breakfast
Underground Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Coober Pedy
367 reviews
4.3 mi away
Venushill B&B
Venushill B&B
#3 of 4 in Coober Pedy
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Down to Erth B &B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Down to Erth B &B

Address: Wedgetail Lot 1795 Crescent | P/O Box 142, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Coober Pedy
Price Range: $112 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Down to Erth B &B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique underground Coober Pedy 2 bedroom apartment for a family or couple, accommodating up to 5 persons. Situated a quick 5 minute drive from the centre of town on the edge of the Coober Pedy Opal Fields. A plunge pool for cooling down in the warmer months and a choice of barbeque's,electric,gas or wood makes for relaxed living after a day exploring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Down to Erth B &B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing