We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best accomodation of our nine day trip!”
Review of Down to Erth B &B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Down to Erth B &B
Ranked #2 of 4 Coober Pedy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Undercover parking, a super quiet, super dark bedroom, a comfortable lounge, a cute little kitchen and dining area and a much needed bath to soak some aches away. Add to that the complimentary bottle of wine and breakfast makes 'Down to Erth' a no-brainer for a return visit one day.

Many Thanks to Rose and Alex for their super service.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scrubby1249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 314 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2011

My wife and I stayed in August 2011.

We've not done a lot of B&Bs in the past, but this was a very good experience. The accommodation was large, very clean and well appointed and totally private. Although Rose and Alex were at hand if you needed them (we didn't), they were completely non-intrusive.

You could not go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janmapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Imacculately clean, comfortable,quiet and private. Rose and Alex (hosts) are just two of the most friendliest / coperative and helpfull people we have had the priviledge to have come across in our vast travels on this continent. (exceptional out back hospitality) The best on our recent trip.

Room Tip: Book ASAP as excellent accommadation like this is so hard to attain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We stayed 2 nights and loved it and will be back. Very welcoming, clean and great attention to detail. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QldFamilyRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We were lucky enough to get a stay in this place. We wanted to experience underground accommodation and when we got there, we were immediately made to feel at home and the place was HUGE - like an underground palace - do not worry that you may get any sort of "closed-in" feeling - it was large and light-filled. The welcome extended to a tour and explanation of everything and a few tips on where to find and what to see - as well as chocolates and wine.
Rose and Alex were wonderful and friendly and after we had seen the other places available, this was for sure the best and I will treasure the pictures and experience for many years.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rhysw552016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

I'm not a huge fan of B&B's and if you are the same I recommend you give this one a go! Really private, all your own facilities and the hosts not far away if you have a question. This place is more like what a good hotel should be. We loved it. If Internet access is essential, it can be a bit patchy but they are working on that and have a few short term fixes. Everything else is A1.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BF_and_AA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Definitely the opal in this dusty mining town. Very cosy and comfy, everything catered for, love the atmosphere of living 'underground'. The only downside was we were travelling home from a very long trip and we were only there for one night and had to leave very early the following morning. Would have been nice to spend a little more time there.

Everything we needed was provided for, and I really felt like I was home (which was a great feeling after having stayed in quite a few impersonal hotel rooms on our trip). I would definitely stay there again if we venture to that part of the state again in future.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lotsoleum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coober Pedy hotels
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
2.3 mi away
Desert Cave Hotel
Desert Cave Hotel
#6 of 7 in Coober Pedy
254 reviews
2.4 mi away
Desert View Apartments
Desert View Apartments
#5 of 7 in Coober Pedy
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
1.1 mi away
Underground Bed & Breakfast
Underground Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Coober Pedy
373 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mud Hut Motel
Mud Hut Motel
#2 of 7 in Coober Pedy
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Down to Erth B &B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Down to Erth B &B

Address: Wedgetail Lot 1795 Crescent | P/O Box 142, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Coober Pedy
Price Range: $109 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Down to Erth B &B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique underground Coober Pedy 2 bedroom apartment for a family or couple, accommodating up to 5 persons. Situated a quick 5 minute drive from the centre of town on the edge of the Coober Pedy Opal Fields. A plunge pool for cooling down in the warmer months and a choice of barbeque's,electric,gas or wood makes for relaxed living after a day exploring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Down to Erth B &B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing