We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ABSOLUTELY AWESOME !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Down to Erth B &B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Down to Erth B &B
Ranked #2 of 4 Coober Pedy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Port Broughton, Australia
1 review
“ABSOLUTELY AWESOME !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2011

spectacular hole in the earth , rose and alex couldnt have been nicer.
we were late arriving and they stayed up to welcome us and show us the place.
i will try and get back there with my other half for a weekend and i certainly have told everyone about the place...if you havent gone there i recommend that you put it on your list. paula
oh and complimentary chocolates and wine doesnt get any better !!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paula5115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
118
124
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2011

We had two nights one week and a third night the following week at Down to Erth and couldn't recommend it high enough to anyone wanting to get the true experience of living underground in Coober Pedy. The welcome from Rose, Alex and the dogs was wonderful as were the provisions left for us. We also appreciated their local knowledge of what to see and where to eat - we will try to have a bbq with them if we stay again. It was unseasonally cool when we stayed (not our host's fault) so we didn't use the pool, but I am sure our car enjoyed the carport to rest its tyres after the hard work we made it do.
Over the past few years, we have stayed in many cottages / B&B's throughout Vic, SA and now NT, and if we were to rate all of these stays, Down to Erth would easily be number 1 as the best place we have stayed.

Room Tip: Don't leave it to the last minute to book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fentongove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2011

Stayed one night at Down to Erth B&B, very spacious underground rooms just on the outskirts of town. You'd need wheels as the walk into town would take a while. Very pleasant hosts who made us feel very welcome. Really needed two nights take advantage of the facilities; highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank picture_of_innocence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2011

Rose and Alex are a delight. The accommodation suited us perfectly. We had a great couple of nights sleep. The kids had a wonderful time. We couldn't fault a thing. Thank god the first place we tried was booked out.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eddiedog74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2011

We have stayed in underground accommodation before - but this place is the best we've ever come across. We stopped for two nights in March with my wife and parents. Greeted by Rose & Alex upon arrival and shown around our private accommodation. You are the only guests who will be staying - ideal for a peaceful stay!
The place is wonderfully presented, wine & chocolates on arrival were a nice touch. All the breakfast provisions were laid out too.
Massive living area with two bedrooms, one off each side. There is a small kitchen with all the facilities you would expect - perfectly adequate for what we needed. Full washing facilities too which is handy when you're on a long road trip....
There is also a little cradle to allow you to get mobile phone reception (underground!!), we also put our mobile broadband in there and it worked like a dream.
It was just a few minutes drive to Coober Pedy for dinner, which we did on one night, opting to cook on the bbq ourselves by the private pool on the other.
Really looking forward to staying again - Having stayed in central Coober Pedy before, I find it impossible to recommend staying anywhere else!!

Room Tip: Stay for 2 nights and take a flight to Lake Eyre!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GraemeMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2011

I booked after talking to Rose briefly on the phone - she was very nice and accommodating right from the beginning. We drove down from Yarlara and came in late, and with the time change was after 10 PM! I had said we might be late but Rose and Alex were waiting for us with the lights on. The rooms are incredibly clean, and Alex is quite the craftsman and there were many nice touches that one does not see in a standard hotel or house. The food, wine, chocolates, company, plunge pool, sleeping quiet, etc. etc. could not be better. It was such a nice respite from the haul back to Adelaide. We will definitely stay again when we come through that way.

Room Tip: Call Rose to check when it is available
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank landr123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2011

A highlight of our trip thru central australia. Had we known how nice the place was, we would have stayed longer. it would have been nice to actually relax in the apartment, instead of just sleep there. Unfortunately we underestimated the things that interested us at cooper pedy and raced from one thing to another to fit it in to only 24 hours. Loved the generous breakfast supplies and the other bits and pieces that were complimentary.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andsalplus4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coober Pedy hotels
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
2.4 mi away
Desert View Apartments
Desert View Apartments
#5 of 7 in Coober Pedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
2.3 mi away
Desert Cave Hotel
Desert Cave Hotel
#7 of 7 in Coober Pedy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
1.1 mi away
Underground Bed & Breakfast
Underground Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Coober Pedy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mud Hut Motel
Mud Hut Motel
#2 of 7 in Coober Pedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Down to Erth B &B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Down to Erth B &B

Property: Down to Erth B &B
Address: Lot 1795 Wedgetail Crescent | P/O Box 142, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Coober Pedy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Down to Erth B &B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique underground Coober Pedy 2 bedroom apartment for a family or couple, accommodating up to 5 persons. Situated a quick 5 minute drive from the centre of town on the edge of the Coober Pedy Opal Fields. A plunge pool for cooling down in the warmer months and a choice of barbeque's,electric,gas or wood makes for relaxed living after a day exploring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Down to Erth B &B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing