We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We recommand it”
Review of Mud Hut Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mud Hut Motel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Coober Pedy
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“We recommand it”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Very friendly staff, nice room and very clean! Furniture was bit old fashioned, but functional and every thing you need was there. Got our own wifi router for the room. Don't care about location if you like to stay in coober pedy - every thing is located in the samd street ;-)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roman_Zanettin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    97
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
71
89
10
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

If you are not comfortable with Underground accommodation well this is the next best thing, it is made from compacted earth and has that natural look and feel to it, the rooms and service is great along with location, opposite the information centre and walking distance to the supermarket and attractions, nice quiet courtyard and good air conditioning.

Room Tip: Just ask the stakk to show you the rooms, if not too booked out get one that does not face the eveni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Good value, everything you need right in the middle of town. Spacious and spotlessly clean. Welcoming staff and a good vibe. The rammed earth walls fit with the Coober Pedy underground feel. We were very pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharron N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Western, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

On my way to Derby, W.A stayed at this motel. Receptionist was nice, room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. Quiet and affordable. Walking distance to the shops and a couple of touristy attractions in town. Yes a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilee47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Very comfortable units, quiet and clean and centrally located. Staff very friendly. Only downside is that restaurant is only open for breakfast but since there are lots of places to eat in the main street just around the corner this is not a problem. Would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed overnight en route from Adelaide to Darwin. Lady at reception was helpful and welcoming. The room was spacious, clean and had a decent sized fridge, something we appreciate when travelling.
Sleep quality was excellent. We'd had a long day and fell asleep within 5 minutes, to be awoken by the alarm 8 hours later.
We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samandjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woomera, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Always great to stay at the Mud Hut (a couple of times now). Apart from the great service, spacious and clean rooms, I really like the fact that it is surrounded by a 2m high wall with cameras monitoring access. This makes me feel more comfy when you are leaving the vehicle alone (whilst attending the Opal Inn for a couple, and off to Tom & Mary's for dinner) with gear hanging off of it. You want it to be there in the morning.

Room Tip: Book early. Very popular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlennLeanneKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coober Pedy hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
0.8 mi away
Desert View Apartments
Desert View Apartments
#5 of 7 in Coober Pedy
185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Desert Cave Hotel
Desert Cave Hotel
#7 of 7 in Coober Pedy
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
1.1 mi away
Underground Bed & Breakfast
Underground Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Coober Pedy
365 reviews
0.1 mi away
Opal Inn
Opal Inn
#6 of 7 in Coober Pedy
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mud Hut Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mud Hut Motel

Property: Mud Hut Motel
Address: St Nicholas St | PO Box 219, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Coober Pedy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mud Hut Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Mud Hut Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing