We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant and Authentic”
Review of Tongue Thai'd

Tongue Thai'd
Ranked #476 of 1,597 Restaurants in Adelaide
Price range: $13 - $18
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“Brilliant and Authentic”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Went here after enjoying a few bands at the Semaphore Music Festival - had heard of it before, but hadn't ever got the chance.

Was very impressed - they were busy but still v attentive to us and the food (we had ppl who were gluten free- wasn't a problem)

Wine list could be expanded, but the food is why you go, and it was amazing! Had a friend who'd just come back from Thailand and they raved that they couldn't tell the difference! Fantastic - will be back, esp if there's great weather and you can stroll down the street to get ice-cream too :)

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank B_Sea_Adelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    29
    15
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
“Sensational !”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Magnificent food and seriously great service ! The location and ambience of the dining layout is brilliant......

Helpful?
Thank 255PaulM255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Another disapointment.”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We have been meaning to go to this restaurant for at least 2 years and it was a disappointment. The room was tiny, the draught from the fire place great and the wooden floor made it incredibly noisy.
The curry puffs were puffy but no hint of curry, the fish cakes light on fish and heavy on oil. The Eggplant and Chicken special was sticky and sweet but not very flavoursome. The Red Beef curry also very mediocre.We were in and out in less than an hour and $70 lighter. Been there, done that and no need to go back. What a pity!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fangnaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, service & atmosphere!”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

This is one of my favourite restaurants. The owner is always friendly and it is such a delight to eat in a place where the owner truly cares about his customers dining experience and not just filling the seats. The red duck curry and lychee is absolutely exquisite. I have had the same dish at other places and nothing compares. The last time i ate there, it was a bit too spicy for me, but the waitress went over and beyond to ensure i enjoyed my meal, asking the kitchen to add more coconut milk and giving me extra rice when i asked for a doggy bag to take the rest home. The restaurant has a really nice feel to it with its red lights and buddha statues. The deserts are mouthwatering and the signature dish of fried eggplant is also fantastic. Highly recommended.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Bug130277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
332 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“They do a fantastic job. Food and service was great.”
Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

Food was fantastic. Delivered quickly to the table.
Staff had a "care factor"
We really enjoy good Thai. This Resturant "has it"
This was the second time I have been here. Yes, I will be back.
Highly recommended !!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Coroona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tongue Thai'd also viewed

Torrensville, West Torrens
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Henley Beach, Charles Sturt
 

Been to Tongue Thai'd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing