We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Bistro Dom

Bistro Dom
Reserve with
Bistro Dom is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #113 of 1,603 Restaurants in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $29
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Adelaide
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Having heard from friends how good this restaurant was and loving french food and wines we ventured out to find out for ourselves! wine list... hardly a french wine in sight... needs more choice of french wines.Goat cheese tart was good BUT main course - Lamb dish was mostly unedible besides 2 mouthfuls rest was fatty and grisly. When we complained to the waitress she made some lame excuse and no apologies. Cooking is not French style.. chef needs to go to France and learn French way of cooking. Lots of tables free but instead of spacing us out over the restaurant four sets of 2 peopke...we were all crammed together in first four tables ... not good for privacy or intimate dining! Suggest spread diners out when restaurant not busy. Won't be going back there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FitForLifeAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    55
    16
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great food, good service...intimate”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

My partner and I booked Bistro Dom a few weeks before hand (we were travelling interstate) so I don't know if it's usually busy - on the night we arrived it seemed quite packed out though.

The restaurant itself is quite small, it's very narrow but quite long. We ordered the kitchen menu which is 5 courses (3 entrees, 1 main and 1 desert) picked by the Kitchen. $80 or $120 (I think) including wine. Which, is reasonably priced I think.

The food was of a high standard, and some of the dishes were quite innovative, probably the most interesting was the main to be honest which was pork belly.

The service was great, and our waiter very friendly (however our waiter did seem to change half way through the night). It was quite noisy, especially at the second half of the evening, and you are sitting quite close to the other tables, so if you're after a quite romantic evening this probably isn't the place for you.

Overall I had a great night, and I would certainly recommend it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ZapoAUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
195 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“OK .. but”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Have now eaten here twice; most recently with a group of business associates. Not an easy place to move around, particularly if seated against the wall. Finding one's way to the toilets still remains a challenge - out the front, 2 doors left, end of corridor, up lift, 1st floor etc. Interesting wine list. Tasting menu - plenty of food, some of it just a bit cute, some more hearty - smoked salmon, rosted peppers, duck combination, stuffed pigs head - very rich. Good - but not the best Adelaide .. not even the best in the street block.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 99TedP61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bistro Dom is brilliant!”
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed the atmosphere, service and especially the food. Exceptional value, fabulous French feel, don't miss out!








  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosario C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always a joy...”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Bistro Dom is a little slice of cafe crossed with a temple of Gastronomy. The food is always good, the menu is a mix of seasonal changes with perennial dishes, and the specials are special, not what was "on special". The wine list is superb and the Cheese Board always an excellent selection.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Storynerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Dom also viewed

 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Bistro Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing