We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Geof - we enjoyed the experience”
Review of Bistro Dom

Bistro Dom
Reserve with
Bistro Dom is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #113 of 1,603 Restaurants in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $29
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Highett, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Geof - we enjoyed the experience”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Yes! it is a narrower than usual restaurant but we never felt crowded. We were greeted at lunch time on a Friday and made welcome immediately on arrival. The art work on the walls led to an interesting discussion about art but was clearly an indication of the owners interest in promoting the works of local artists. The food was outstanding - all four of us were impressed with the range of food on offer and enjoyed our choices; however we were delighted with the manner and helpfulness of the waitress who took the time to described the menu choices and the way the food was to be cooked. The wine list was teriffic whilst the wines we chose were superb. There are time when you can depart from a restaurant and feel over fed and bloated - the size of the serves at Bistro Dom were such that very enjoyable were the words that best described the meal. A superb lunch experience. Just by the way - the toilet experience can be somewhat dampening if it is raining.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Geof P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    55
    16
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants in Adelaide”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Tiny, narrow room but great authentic French food, with excellent service. Much cheaper than an airfare to Paris as well. Good wine list with some excellent French choices as well. Lunch special deal (2 courses and a glass of wine) is excellent value, although the serving size is smaller than the normal menu. Friendly staff - both Oz and French. One of my faourite Adelaide restaurants - have been several times and never disappointed

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor Service”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I love fine dining, particularly provincial French, however... although the French may have, in what I believe an unfair history of being arrogant, one would not expect such arrogance at a French restaurant in Australia. So my advice to one particular waitress is, lighten up honey. Yes you work in a nice little place, but seriously??? Smile and dont judge!! You never know who you may be serving that measly $40 bottle of wine to.....

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kimba72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent French Style Food in Adelaide”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Great food and not too overpriced for the quality of the food you are getting. The duck parfait was amazing and the service was fantastic. Made the night extra special and you definitely go home feeling very full and satisfied.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank adelaidetraveller86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful little restaurant”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Superb food, great service, heaps of ambiance - long skinny restaurant with moody decor & interesting art.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bronwyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Dom also viewed

 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Bistro Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing