We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, clean, quiet and central”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Adelaide’s Shakespeare Backpackers International Hostel
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice, clean, quiet and central”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I would recommend this hostel. The rooms are nice and big and its definitely no party hostel. Its very close to the city centre and the tram station.
The shared bathroom is clean. Its rather a quiet atmosphere (but this might just be because of christmas and new year, all backpackers gone to sydney or melbourne).
I really liked the balcony because its a nice place to hang out and u have several free wifi hotspots because there is a peter pans (internet cafe) right next to the hostel.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are same as good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snoop187371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    27
    15
    6
    9
See reviews for
1
8
49
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
2 reviews
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I would definitely not recommend this hostel. Mainly due to the staff who I found outright rude. If you don't like working with people then find a different industry to work in! The place was only moderately clean and I found that there was very little happening around the place at night. I ended up shortening my stay at this hostel and moved just down the street to a place that was way better. Would not recommend staying here with so many other options nearby that are also in downtown Adelaide. Spend the time to find another location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoloTraveler412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Adelaide hotels

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed at this hostel with out univeristy basketball and hockey teams while we were in Adelaide for University Games. The staff were really helpful always happy to tell us the best places to go. It was an easy walk to all the nightclubs and pub (be careful of jaywalking the police really crack down on it in Adelaide), close to supermarkets and public transport. We caught a bus from the airport which was really easy. We had a 9.30am check out but they let us leave our bags downstairs and hang out in the common room because our flight wasn't until the afternoon. Internet was pretty slow. And there is a surcharge on all alcohol brought in (like this at all the Adelaide hostels our teams stayed at). Overall a great stay my impression was that most of the guests were working and living there for a longer length of time, so is a good place if you are looking for a home away from home.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frizzicle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I've been staying at the hostel for about 4 months and I must say it has been a really good stay. I occupied a top bunk in a 10 bed dorm (all girls) and it's a really nice room. Plenty of space, lockers, shelves and fairly clean. Not many sockets though. Kitchen is good and spacious, all I missed was an oven, especially since I stayed here for so long. But you survive, no biggie! Bathrooms were ok, plenty of showers and toilets.

Staff is really nice and I they have some special offers on tours which are really good. Took advantage of that and booked myself a trip to Barossa valley :) Reception is open 24/7 and they are really helpful.

The hostel is located in the CBD and is close to all the pubs and clubs, shopping etc. Coles just around the corner.

As a conclusion, I definitely recommend you to stay here. Cheap, clean and friendly hostel :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skovde, Sweden
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I' stayed at Shakey's for about 4 months and it is a great hostel to stay at. Both for a longer time, a weekend or just a night. The staff is very friendly and they can help you to book cheap tour instead of going to Peter Pan next door. I stayed in a big 10 bed dorm with plenty of space, it is a clean hostel. But there are somethings that are not as nice. Everyday they do both room check (sometimes more then one) and cleaning in the rooms and it gets pretty annoying sometimes when they keep running in and out of the room unannounced.
The kitchen is pretty big and doesn't get to crowded but the one thing I was missing was the oven.
Also there are some nightclubs close to the hostel. And if you are one of the persons trying to sleep in the hostel and not one of the people in the nightclub it can get pretty irritating, Though I think this only applies to the rooms closest to the balcony. I was staying in 103 (which is next to the balcony) and you can hear people screaming outside and music from the nightclubs. But if your not a light sleeper it shouldn't bother you.

All in all it is a good hostel and I would definitely recommend it. If I'm ever in Adelaide again I will stay with them!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricaAntonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

I stayed here for 2 weeks. I pre booked a room, but when I arrived they had a special offer. Because I pre booked I had to pay for the full price. You don't get discount in OZ!
The room was crowed and average clean. Kitchen and bathroom was okay
Don't buy the internet, cause you have free internet at Peter Pans next door!!! Or you can use the free wifi of Adelaide if you sit on the balcony. :)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

The hostel is cheap, quiet enough to sleep properly, clean. There's a big living room with many comfortable sofas, big screen tv with FOXTEL and some books. The cooking space is wide. Washing machines are inside the hostel. The proximity to a backpackers agency with free wi-fi let you to browse Internet free, but just in some rooms. The official wi-fi Internet provider in the hostel is Global Gossip but coins working Internet computers are also available. Staff is kind enough compared to the average level in Australia backpackers.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilfog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.6 mi away
Adelaide Backpackers Inn
Adelaide Backpackers Inn
#16 of 52 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.0 mi away
Adelaide Central YHA
Adelaide Central YHA
#4 of 52 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Guest House
The Guest House
#22 of 52 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Backpack OZ
Backpack OZ
#13 of 52 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostel 109 Flashpackers
Hostel 109 Flashpackers
#7 of 52 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hotel Metropolitan
The Hotel Metropolitan
#4 of 14 in Adelaide
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelaide’s Shakespeare Backpackers International Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelaide’s Shakespeare Backpackers International Hostel

Property: Adelaide’s Shakespeare Backpackers International Hostel
Address: 123 Waymouth St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Adelaide’s Shakespeare Backpackers International Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To all Backpackers and Travelers in Oz: Need a Hostel? Are you full of Youth? Prefer to live like the Nomads? Then Base yourself in Central Adelaide. "Adelaide's Shakespeare Backpackers International Hostel" is a lovely old style Victorian building, it retains old charm and ambiance from a bygone era. Located in the heart of the backpacker precinct, very close to all the opportunities and tourist hotspots Adelaide has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Adelaide’s Shakespeare Backpackers International Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing