We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great restaurant.”
Review of t chow

t chow
Ranked #489 of 1,597 Restaurants in Adelaide
Price range: $14 - $18
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great restaurant.”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This place has been an institution for years. The yum VHS they offer during the day is fantastic and inexpensive. Living in Sydney and visiting family in Adelaide a few times a year we always come here. Compared to Chinese food in Sydney this place rocks. Dinner is also very good. Yes some of the dishes are classic Chinese and may be nothing extra ordinary. However when your paying $20-25 per head I don't get the complaints. This place is a gem.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mehow2705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    63
    37
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Stock standard Asian cuisine”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Good food but nothing stand-out nor any different from what you'd find at your typical Asian restaurant catering for westerners. A good place to take people who aren't overly experimental with their tastes and aren't into traditional Asian cuisine. T Chow caters well for large groups - in fact, it is rare to see a table of less than four people on any given evening. Service is good but not exceptional. A loud, busy atmosphere. Reasonably priced but you could find the same dishes for much less in other Chinatown restaurants. If you're after special fried rice, honey chicken and singapore noodles, then this is your place - but if you're looking for a more authentic Asian experience, definitely venture elsewhere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mdunne1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Can be hit or miss”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

I've been going to T chow for many years now and most experiences have been great, but experimenting with new dishes I haven't tried before has sometimes ended poorly. Some dishes are always brilliant, the hokkien noodles, sweet and sour pork and quail especially!

Value is not great if you buy a lot of dishes, so this can vary depending on the amout of people eating (a family of 5 usually costs $120 overall including drinks).

The restaurant itself is nice, but on a busy friday night it can be awfully noisy and difficult to even talk to people in, however it is not like that very frequently.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nothappyjan111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Cum Cha at t chow”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We had an internet voucher for this meal so we were not expecting much. We got much better food and service than we expected for the price we paid. The service was very good and the waiter/ host was only too happy to help us with our choices and to explain the menu. The food was tasty and well presented and we were more than satisfied with our choices. I hadn't been there for some years, but was not disappointed. i will go back there again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Yum cha at t chow”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Food was good but not outstanding. Used an internet voucher for this meal so it was good value for money, but it would have been poor value for money if paying full price. Staff had an indifferent attitude

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debbie14_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed t chow also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to t chow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing