We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average Mexican” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zapata's Mexican Restaurant

Zapata's Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #166 of 1,609 Restaurants in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $22
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Average Mexican”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

Came here for dinner on our first night in Adelaide, busy restaurant , nice cocktails and average food . Quite surprised at the rave reviews as "the best Mexican " as apart from the attentive staff there was nothing special about this place.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    61
    26
    19
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Mexican”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

I ate the El Bandido which was huge, and it tasted really good, the Margaritas where also good. Service was good, and there was quite a few Mexican beers to choose from too.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stvnwtsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Best Mexican in Adelaide”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

I have been to Mexico and Zapatas is definitely the closest to being the most authentic Mexican restaurant in Adelaide. The fajitas are my personal fav, and the meal is the same every time we return!

Helpful?
1 Thank flippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous margaritas, fun atmosphere and a great place to relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

My parents babysat for the night so my husband and I made a beeline for this place. We love Mexican food and were keen to get out and relax.
We arrived a little earlier than we'd booked and the helpful concierge still fitted us in to their busy restaurant. The place was full of couples, groups and families and felt like a fun place to relax.
We had to ask for the drinks menu but when we ordered margaritas (me) and beer (hubby) they arrived quickly. The margaritas were perfect - not too sour and not too sweet either.
We shared nachos for entree and fajitas for main, and couldn't eat it all. The food was fresh and tasty. I'd just have ordered a salad with it next time around.
We'd definitely go back. Would also recommend popping next door to the Elephant Walk Cafe for after dinner coffee and cake.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jfay82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
600 reviews
391 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Good but not for me !”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Zapata's has been in North Adelaide for a long time now so something must be right. The restaurant & decor looks nice and the staff is also very friendly & helpful.
The food is not for me as it's way to heavy & stodgy. I wish it was a bit lighter and not so heavy - however it's Tex-Mex food and not Mexican. Saying that, the food is not bad at all - the Nachos were good and so was the frozen margaritas.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MagnusAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zapata's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Zapata's Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing