We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Steaks; service below standard”
Review of The Stag Hotel

The Stag Hotel
Ranked #219 of 1,603 Restaurants in Adelaide
Price range: $7 - $29
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Steaks; service below standard”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

The steaks were enjoyable cooked as we had ordered. Flavoursome and tender. However, the orders were mixed up with wrong sides being given. Alex was very helpful re wine choices especially when our preferred wine wasn't available. There must still be a water shortage in Adelaide because we couldn't get water despite several requests. Prices were expensive for food and wine. We have experienced better steak places for overall value, service and atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnB521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    63
    35
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
187 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Good ambience but pricey!”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Had to check this place out when we saw the ad on the front, "worst vegetarian resturant in Adelaide", made us laugh! A good steak sounded yummy, so we went in. Steak was very good, but I thought overpriced. Good atmosphere but found the hostess a little condescending. Waitstaff was okay but had to sk a few times to get water refilled, etc.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank laenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast U.S.
Level Contributor
118 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Meat!”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Easy part first: the food, particularly the steak, is very good. Expertly cooked, tender, and flavorful. That said, The Stag isn't on my "must return" list. It's a bit pricey for what it is, and the place seems to have a bit of an identity crisis: on the one hand, the decor in the main dining room evokes mid-century American Rat-Pack glamour, suggesting an opulent, indulgent evening with a bit of naughtiness. On the other, there are video screens everywhere, advertising happy hours and events that evoke more of a "Girls Gone Wild" atmosphere -- not the kind of naughtiness I was looking for! Probably more of a draw for the under-40 crowd?

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NoRestForTheWeary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A good time!”
Reviewed June 13, 2012 via mobile

Whether you want to go to the stag for a nice lunch or dinner with some friends... Some beer or wine at the downstairs bar or a night out dancing on a Saturday night upstairs to pop, r&b & dance music... you will have a ball!!!! Fun atmosphere full of fun people and staff :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Len M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
153 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Steak, steak, steak”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Extended family lunch of about a dozen in the dining room. Food was a bit pricey but good to see it was mainly all regionally grown. Agree with the Hotel's self promotion that it is Adelaide worst vegetarian restaurant - steak is what you go here for and it was very nice.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank GoCrows123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stag Hotel also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to The Stag Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing