We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Food, Outstanding Service, Expensive” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kenji - CLOSED

Kenji
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Outstanding Service, Expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

We decided to try Kenji recently for our wedding anniversary having read the reviews here. Overall, I'd say the reviews are very accurate. The restaurant itself is quite small, but very welcoming and pleasant. The menu had a range of really interesting food that does tend to remind one of the "Iron Chef" tag that was mentioned by someone else; Japanese food with more than a touch of gourmet about it.

We opted for the 5 course degustation with upgrade. This took us on an interesting food journey that was certainly delightful. Some of the dishes were nothing short of exquisite, and the quantities were well balanced and ample. Each dish was greeted with a full explanation of what was on the plate, and some with a suggested method of eating.

There were some excellent Japanese beers available that are certainly uncommon. The wine list was very good and although we didn't indulge, I'm sure the Sake selection would satisfy the most discerning of tastes.

Food excellent. Service absolutely outstanding. Price north of $280 for 2 people with a few glasses of vino is probably stretching the relationship for what it is.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Essbeebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    46
    9
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
80 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Japanese Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

We had the sushi boat, and there is so much seafood, it is very good value, most was nigri sushi, there were only 5 slices of sushi rolls. The scallop was beautiful as was the salmon and tuna, but there were a few slices of stringy, sinewy sashimi. I ordered the duck for main, the leg was nice and tender, the breast overcooked. The service was very good, and out water glasses were filled often. I did not have time for dessert, but they had many to chose from...next time.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank mashedpotatoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent as usual”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

We always go to Kenji for special celebrations as the food and service are always excellent. This time they did not disappoint with mains of pork belly and steak prepared in a uniquely Japanese style. The presentation of the food is always a treat.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent service & food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

We were not disappointed! Amazing food and great tastes with service to match. Very friendly and attentive staff. Not cheap but what you'd expect to pay for quality Japanese food. We will be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bergzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hidden iron chef”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

Kenji delivered on every level - service, food, wine, timing and quantity; the food providing multiple taste pleasures from basic ingredients. To gain most from the dining, it is recommended to indulge in the tasting options listed in the menu. Waiting staff are happy to explain and assist with menu selections.

The cost per person for our meal ran close to $100 for four courses and wine with the main courses provided a substantial amount of food. So although not cheap (cheap was not expected) the meal provided a high quality event.

Our meal was taken on a Tuesday evening with other patrons to approximately 80% of table capacity. I would therefore recommend booking ahead a fine food experience. The patrons appeared to be an eclectic mix of couples, families, friends and business people with the acoustics being favourable for conversation.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 561Daz050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kenji also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing