We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing every time!”
Review of Kenji - CLOSED

Kenji
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Adelaide
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing every time!”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I have eaten at this restaurant probably 15 times over the past 8 years and every time is is excellent. The food is superb, the service is some of the best in Adelaide. It continues to be my favorite place to dine out.
If I have a special diner or a work dinner this is my go-to place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JeffMeade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    46
    9
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Adelaide!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

This place is amazing!! Beautiful, innovative food that is a Japanese-European fusion. Every mouthful is a wonderful mixture of flavours and you just want more. I recommend the mixed entree plate (to try as much as possible!), anything with miso in it and any dessert (especially the green tea chocolate pudding).
The service is perfect - attentive but not intrusive, and always friendly.
It's also good value for such high quality.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AdM85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A Japanese gem in Adelaide”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Very knowledgable staff about the food and wine, had a good chat about how passionate the chef in managing this modern Japanese gem in Adelaide.
Very fresh sashimi, loved the pork belly and great flavoured of the wagyu beef curry. Dessert was the dish of the day.
It could get a bit noisy in the restaurant, sit outside if you could. (We sat outside, heater available) This is the place to bring your friends from interstate or overseas.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 456brianl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We visited on a Wednesday night, only booking 1/2 an hour beforehand as we'd just gotten off the plane but knew Kenji was our first pitstop from the airport based on all of the great reviews we'd read.
The restaurant was actually quite full so it seems we were quite lucky to have gotten a table at all, but the service was still as though we were the only people there.
Our waitress was fantastic, very well informed of most of the dishes and had a great personality that just made our experience even more enjoyable.
I ordered the sashimi which was presented very creatively in an ice sphere, my other half had the steak which he said was cooked to perfection.
The creme brulee we had for dessert was also baked perfectly, and the custard was beautiful and creamy.
The restaurant design is very 'fusion' and funky, I found the seats were quite hard but you can grab a cushion at the front which I found to be a really thoughtful touch that many restaurants forget about when they provide solid wood seats.
Could not recommend Kenji enough.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fromAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Pork and Beef a Delight”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had the tasting platter which was interesting, with many different tastes. However, next time we will try something else.

The mains of Pork Belly and Wagu Beef were the standouts and are recommended.

The service was exemplary with knowledgeable helpful and pleasant staff.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ngunna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kenji also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing