We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good quality Japanese restaurant”
Review of Kenji - CLOSED

Kenji
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
207 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Good quality Japanese restaurant”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Ate here on a Wednesday night and the restaurant was about half full. We ordered a selection of dishes to share. The edamame was standard although expensive. The sushi and sashimi dishes were fresh, very well presented and of pretty good standard for a sushi restaurant. The tuna with langoustines was also very well presented and very tasty. The chocolate souffle was excellent, not too sweet and a good way to finish and good meal. The service was also very good, pretty slick but not overbearing. The music during our visit was a bit of a low point, with tunes reminiscent of a hotel lobby or department store elevator. Overall, a pretty good restaurant with fresh food and good service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sismith17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    46
    9
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A mix of modern and traditional Japanese”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Arrived to a packed restaurant at 7pm. Good wine list with most bottles in the $40 plus range so a little expensive if you have a few bottles between four. We went for the modern Japanese. Two of us had venison done perfectly. The duck was not what was expected but lovely. And the oysters for entree delicious. We shared desserts and the creme brûlée was superb. One should make notes as its easy to forget things but we'll be back. Some tables turned over three times. The restaurant has been here for some six years at the end of Hutt St so not something you walk by. So it's a testimony to its quality that its still here. Very efficient service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rudi888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fresh Delicious Contemporary Japanese”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I have dined here numerous occasions and every time i have found the food to be super fresh and delicious- The flavours are amazing and Kenji seems to always create some original dishes.
I love the little olives that they serve up when you first sit down ( would love that recipe).
It may be a little pricey however you pay for what you get and therefore it is worth the money you spend for high quality fresh original dishes! Food presentation is great!
The service is exceptional and friendly. Good wine list as well.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yiann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great modern Japanese with a nice setting”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Had a great dinner here on Friday night. The restaurant has a great ambiance and nice feel to it. The food was extremely well presented, looked and tasted great - no complaints there. Service was excellent - attentive, yet unobstrusive. Will definitly go back again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LaidbackSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robe, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Japanese”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Fabulous presentation. Delicious food. A little on the expensive side and service was just okay but all in all we had a good night and will probably return

Helpful?
Thank AnnieH129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kenji also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Hyde Park, Adelaide
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing