We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I didn't get the 'best Thai in Adelaide' vibe at all”
Review of Star of Siam

Star of Siam
Ranked #16 of 1,623 Restaurants in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Star of Siam Thai restaurant, Adelaide, South Australia
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“I didn't get the 'best Thai in Adelaide' vibe at all”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

It was OK. I can't really say much more than that. I wasn't wowed or disgusted in any way. I got fed. Reasonably expensive for all that, but it's a restaurant on Gouger Street, aren't they all?

It was a busy Friday night, the place was packed, and the maitre'd who almost seemed to be irritated in having to deal with something so annoying as customers wanting a table, was wearing sweat pants.

We arrived with no booking, but managed to put our name down for a table to be ready in half an hour. When we came back, we (4 of us) got shoehorned onto a table outside.

The service was efficient, but far from personable. The grilled squid starter was like a plate of gaskets, but the rest of the food was quite good.

I might go back if I find myself nearby and hungry, but I won't make a dedicated effort.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StevenandJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    152
    36
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This was our third visit to this busy restaurant and every time it's been the same: Great food, fast service, very attentive and friendly staff. The Pad Thai is one of the best I've had. Salt and Pepper Soft Shell Crab is delicious. Drunken seafood, very tasty, especially the fish pieces. But I've had quite a few other dishes here and it has all been so very good. Please, never change!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gavagai18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Subtle. Class all the way.”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I love this reaturant. I last went with a group of 6. I was half an hour early and the restarant was empty. When I arrived the waiter was very friendly, seating me and taking wine order. When my friends arrived the service again was very friendly and propmy. Seemless service being very hard to find in Adelaide we were not left wanting for anything.
The food was sublime and certainly much more than I was excpecting. When the bill came I was pleaseanlty surprised, I would have been happy to pay more. $40 each for more food and wine than 6 poeple would need. Cant wait to go back when renovations are complete.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sea Stars”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Star of Siam has been a long time favourite of mine and if you have to try something new for the first time make sure you try the 'Sea Stars' - just yummy, although never enough. The Choo Chee Prawns another brilliant meal!!!! Good variety of vegetarian meals as well for those who prefer that. Although a cool evening we sat outside and with the outdoor heating we were fine. The hustle and bustle of Gouger Street makes it all part of the charm. Inside the tables and chairs are a little close together which makes it squeezy but not too much of a problem. The servings are generous and well priced. The service was good although took a while to bring our drinks. I would always recommend this restaurant to visiting interstate friends and great to go as groups as well as couples, etc.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GillyAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Thai excellence”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Authentic thai and overall an excellent dining experience. If in Adelaise City, highly recommend a visit though be sure to book early.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barradog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Star of Siam also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Star of Siam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing