We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and view marred by service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Ochre

Red Ochre
Reserve with
Red Ochre is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #82 of 1,609 Restaurants in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $46
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Red Ochre Grill restaurant enjoys one of Adelaide’s best city locations. Literally sitting on the water the restaurant has beautiful river views and wonderful night time city views from every seat in the restaurant. The restaurant is a 10 minute walk along the River Torrens from the Adelaide Festival Centre and or 10 minutes cab ride from any city hotel. Additionally there is ample free parking. The Red Ochre Grill is a spacious stylish contemporary room and our approach to service is professional and informed without being stuffy.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
227 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great food and view marred by service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Took visitors from overseas to the Red Ochre for the native Australian foods and the lovely view of Adelaide across the River Torrens.
Food was lovely- but as another reviewer has said, rather marred by the slow and somewhat amateurish service. I know it is rare to get served a bottle of wine which is off nowadays- but I still value the tradition of a taste of the wine being offered before it is poured. Didn't happen here. I would also have liked the waiting staff to be more attentive in offering refills of wine and water - and to have taken our orders and brought the food quicker than it all happened for us. Service of a higher quality would elevate this restaurant from good to great.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank traveller-eater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    90
    27
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Indigenous Produce”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

Great to see a place serving indigenous produce. Some of the freshest and delicious bread I have ever tasted, seafood very fresh, loved the jumbo sea scallops and prawns. Good service from the staff.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Darren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good meal marred by rediculously slow service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

I dined at this restaurant yesterday evening with 7 friends. We had booked. The restaurant has a great setting with marvellous view down River Torrens to the city. The food was excellent and the wine list fairly comprehensive. The one major minus was the very slow service. It was an hour and a half before my first dish arrived. There was no apology despite our very gentle protests - we were told "it is being plated" - and that was over half an hour before it arrived!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Sensational setting with great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

We had a table on the upstairs verandah overlooking the river on a balmy evening. As a setting this was hard to beat. The food has a strong focus on indigenous Australian ingredients. The kitchen is clearly of a very high standard as all four of us had superb meals. My personal favorite was the salt & pepper crocodile.

The only reason I didn't give the restaurant five stars is that the service is a little too casual for a fine dining establishment.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BookbuyerMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great cuisine spoilt by rude waitress”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We chose Red Ochre from its extensive use of indigenous foods, its pricing and its setting on the Torrens.
These three factors lived up to our expectations. Very good indeed!

The waitress concerned showed a lack of respect for her clients--treated us as through we were long-time buddies instead of totally new guests. She was clearly not aware that when there is an age difference between her and her customer (yes I am a granddad) she may need to show a different approach than when talking with customers her own age. Twice she was verbally aggressive in her attempt at jokiness. More training in customer service would be very useful for her.

BTW Decor is just OK-- lots of shiny aluminium if you like that.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CampbellAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Ochre also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Red Ochre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing