We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classy clever cooking” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Ochre

Red Ochre
Reserve with
Red Ochre is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #74 of 1,610 Restaurants in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $46
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Romantic, Scenic view, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Red Ochre Grill restaurant enjoys one of Adelaide’s best city locations. Literally sitting on the water the restaurant has beautiful river views and wonderful night time city views from every seat in the restaurant. The restaurant is a 10 minute walk along the River Torrens from the Adelaide Festival Centre and or 10 minutes cab ride from any city hotel. Additionally there is ample free parking. The Red Ochre Grill is a spacious stylish contemporary room and our approach to service is professional and informed without being stuffy.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Classy clever cooking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Four of us for dinner on a friday evening using the Festival of Food voucher. The restaurant is on the banks of the Torrens directly above the River Cafe. Great location and the glass walls gave a great view of the night lights of Adelaide. This would be a great place to impress a first or second date. The food was clever, a little cheffy and technically the best I have had in Adelaide. Service was good. Nothing about Red Ochre was not to like. If you want Michelin star type food at standard Adelaide prices or maybe a little above then go to Red Ochre. I think the cooking worthy of at least 1 Michelin star. Starters 20 dollars, Mains 35 and Sweets 20 dollars. Wine 50 dollars a bottle.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TeenageMutant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    90
    27
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Special Occasion Dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We booked a table with a river view for our wedding anniversary and were delighted with the view. They were busy although it was a Tuesday night. Prices would prohibit us eating here on a regular basis, but for a special occasion definitely worth the experience. Staff were obliging regarding eating allergies and suggest notifying them ahead of time so they can provide something thoughtfully. Happy Anniversary written in chocolate around our dessert plate was a pleasant touch. Soy hot chocolate was delicious. I would recommend the molten hot chocolate pudding for dessert, even if, like me, you are not usually a dessert eater. I think it is big enough to share. All wine is over ten dollars a glass and main meals are in the mid thirties.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 255093Diane_52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, delicious food and wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

I was visiting a friend in Adelaide and requested a restaurant with Australian food. This was an excellent choice.The setting is lovely and the service top notch and friendly. I had kangaroo and it was cooked perfectly, medium rare and delicious. My companions had lamb and seafood and everyone remarked that they thoroughly enjoyed their meal. The wine selection was certainly good on Australian wines and we enjoyed that, too.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MilesT0G0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Devine.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

A Saturday night in Adelaide town on the torrens at this beautiful spot.
Warm and friendly service. Incredible Seafood Platter as entree from the specials menu. Beautiful Organic Chicken and Lamb Backstrap as mains. Nepenthe Sav Blanc and delicious deserts consisting of Unusual but delightful pavlova and a chocolate fondot with aboriginal art was to die for.

Total cost $200 for two people for three courses and wine was good and overall a great night had.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Petshopboy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
107 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Excellent view, great restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

I attended this restaurant in a large group of 20+. There was plenty of room for seating. We were served quite quickly. The staff were very friendly.

The food arrived quickly and it was of a very high standard. The portions were small but still enough.

The view into the city across the river was lovely.

I would like to go there again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MDSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Ochre also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Red Ochre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing