We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Nasi Goreng in Australia”
Review of Mekong Thai - CLOSED

Mekong Thai
Cuisines: Malaysian, Thai
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Nasi Goreng in Australia”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Regular lunch and dinner stop. Authentic Malaysian and Thai food cooked and run by Malaysian. Love many of their dishes. My favourite is the Nasi Goreng or the Pad thai. Décor is nothing fancy but great value for money.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    47
    18
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Navenby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“It is what it is”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Don't expect high end restaurant food; but if you are after basic Asian food well cooked and reasonably authentic then this is a great little cafe. Prices are very reasonable for Australia, especially given the large portion size. I can't help but think some of the reviewers had rather unreasonable expectations because some reviews do seem unduly critical and personal. Having travelled much myself, I would certainly eat here again if in Adelaide.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WanderingIslander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“poor service , impolite waitress”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

the food is alright, the price is reasonable , but the service is poor, I think they need to teach the shortest waitress there how to behave herself , teach her how to smile , say please and thank you at least,she is horrible people, well I have been their regular customer and delivery driver for a year now, I always come back to that place just to show friends who regularly come from abroad and interstate what is the kangaroo taste like, coz this is the only restaurant that sells halal kangaroo but she has never been kind to me..hopefully one day Ill find a halal kangaroo somewhere else.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank harry1688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“I now have a favorite Thai restaurant in Australia”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

This little gem close to the Adelaide train station was an oasis after a long walk through the city in 100+ degree weather. It's air conditioned and has ceiling fans. Service was fast and friendly and the Singha beer was cold.

Even in this heat, I started off with what was the best Tom Yum Goong soup I've ever enjoyed. While it was about $10, it was a healthy serving. The spiciness coupled with finely chopped lemon grass and fresh cilantro really made the flavors pop!

I followed the soup with an order of Seafood Nasi Goreng. Again, a generous serving of fried rice, with sprouts, large mussels, calamari, shrimp, nicely spiced with ginger, chillies, and herbs.

It was a wonderful meal enjoyed with cold Singha beer. I will be back multiple times during my time in Adelaide.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank The_Traveler_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“worst food ever tasted”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

i dont know if people who commented previously ever tasted any authentic thai food. Because i went to this place based on the previous reviews. I invited my friend for lunch. I was too frustrated after the food was served. it looked like yesterday's food heated in oven and served quickly. Food tasted terrible, a 5 year old cooks better i bet. Do you call it a restaurant quality food??? they should shut it down or go to uni and learn how to cook thai food. really irritated not just for the food they serve but also for fooling people by giving these crap reviews. I think if people ever go to mekong thai they will never dare to taste thai food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sania r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mekong Thai also viewed

 
Parkside, Adelaide
Goodwood, Adelaide
 
Malvern, Adelaide
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing