We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good place for a special occasion” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jolleys Boathouse Restaurant

Jolleys Boathouse Restaurant
Reserve with
Jolleys Boathouse Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #45 of 1,609 Restaurants in Adelaide
Price range: $23 - $37
Cuisines: Australian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“A good place for a special occasion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Jolleys Boathouse Restaurant is close to the River Torrens which makes a very nice backdrop for dining. Recommend you ask for one of the window seats where you can watch walkers, cyclists and joggers pass as well as some activity on the river. First and foremost, the food was very good as was the wine list. However it is not a cheap venue and I would have expected the service to be a little more attentive even though it was lunchtime. With good company and a great atmosphere it was an excellent place to celebrate a graduation.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gr_Taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    143
    54
    24
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

We got there a bit late but the staff was great and let us hurry in. We ended up there for a few hours and had not only a wonderful meal but lots of laughs. Very relaxed yet still a world class place!! Not cheap but it probably shouldn't be.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aussie777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Disappointed service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

The food was absolutely beautiful, however, eventhough it was mid-week and not a lot of customers we were left to our own devices and lack of customer service. It was my birthday so felt disappointed. If the service was better I would have rated this a lot higher as the food was so nice.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“nice 2 storey restaurant overlooking torrens river”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

interior old fashioned immaculate polished wooden floors tables well set up to take in view and ambient setting daily specials 2 outside tables food first class service was ok they were busy on a friday prices about average for this area quite satisfactory

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 582552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Mixed quality and high prices”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We went here for a family lunch and it was a mixed experience.

The service was very good, attentive, but not intrusive and generally helpful.

The food was definitely mixed, I had Berkshire Pig which was excellent, the fish and steak were also very good, however 3 of our party had the duck which they said was dreadful. It was dry and had no discernible sauce with it - not up to the mark at all - I hope that this is a one off.

The prices are too high for Adelaide, both wine and food.

The restaurant has a fantastic location, even better if you are by the windows. Great views.

I would certainly give it another go and would probably recommend to others - just be careful what you order!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CameronTLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jolleys Boathouse Restaurant also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Jolleys Boathouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing