We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Italian food and service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chianti

Chianti
Ranked #9 of 1,608 Restaurants in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Italian food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

If you want your food big, rich and filling then this is the place!
I have now been here on several occasions and the food and service was very good every time.
Yummy.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank teamadelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    573
    204
    77
    37
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
204 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Don't miss this Italian gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

We hosted two guests here for lunch during a recent trip to Adelaide. Though expensive, it was worth every penny.
The restaurant was particularly busy since the outdoor patrons had to be re-seated inside because of high winds. Nonetheless, the hostess made us walk-ins feel welcome, and prepared a table for us efficiently and quickly.
The food was innovative and first-rate. The wine list was superb, probably not surprising in this part of the world. The service was friendly, good-humored, and efficient.
We will be sure to visit again when visiting Adelaide. Our experience was really first rate.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank allidoistravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

A visit to Chianti's is always a treat, I love the food there, the quality seems to be consistently well above average.

Helpful?
Thank madman26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“An Adelaide classic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

This family owned restaurant has been a fixture on the Adelaide restaurant scene for decades. I couldn't believe that I had actually waited so long to sample their renowned food and service, but had the opportunity this week to celebrate a friend's birthday, and will be coming back this weekend for a Christmas work dinner.
We were seated outside on quite interesting and compfy chairs; there are cafe blinds and heaters to block the breeze or warm the air if it gets cold, but this time of year the temperature was perfect.
We were attended to very quickly with water and a friendly chit chat with the owner.

Deciding on what to eat was dilemma as there were so many choices. The food is of course, Italian, with pastas, fish and seafood, bistecca, rabbit, with specials highlighted on the day. There is also a wonderful dessert array, with the opportunity to have a tasting plate to share if you can fit it in! We had several entrees to share which was lovely and delicious. I had the rabbit which had been slow cooked, fell off the bone, in a rich dark sauce, and accompanied by broccollini and other sides. Soooooo full! Wines were beautiful.

We had a lovely evening, facilitated by the unobtrusive but attentive serving staff.

Looking forward to that second tasting this weekend!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kittycat888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlemaine, Victoria
2 reviews
“Something Special....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Had the delight to experience breakfast at this restaurant recently. Absolutely superb service, food, ambience, could not fault it. Can't wait to return to Adelaide with my husband and try lunch or dinner.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cavall0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chianti also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Chianti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing