We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Favourite Italian restaurant!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amalfi

Amalfi
Ranked #62 of 1,610 Restaurants in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Amalfi Pizzeria Restaurant
australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Favourite Italian restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

Amazing pasta and pizza with generous serving sizes! This is one place you won't go hungry. Remember to make a reservation, as it's always busy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank f0ngster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    117
    43
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Italian food in Adelaide!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Been here many times. Never been disappointed! Nice menu prepared to perfection by the chefs. Service is good and prompt. Addictive pizzas and pastas with very generous servings of ingredients. Busy even on weekdays, so book to avoid disappointment.

PS: Try the Focaccia No. 4! It's not on the menu. Ask for it, you won't be disappointed

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Reuben J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“huge serves”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Very cosy restaurant with tables very close. Nice decor. We arrived at about 6 with no reservation and they told us we could have a table until 7.30pm. Considering the time constraints they were a bit slow to serve us.

My friend had been here before so ordered an entre size penne pasta. I had Saltimbocca alla romana - the meat was okay but not 'melt in your mouth'. The fried potatoes were nice and there was a huge stack of spinach on the side - seriously way too much.

Overall a good meal, nice friendly staff and nice atmosphere. Probably wouldn't come here if I wanted to impress, but okay for a meal amongst other activities for the night.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank _iJane_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
206 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Great restaurant and very unassuming too”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

If you want a good meal, this is a beauty right in the middle of Adelaide. Good pizza and even better pasta. Be sure to book as sometimes it's tough to get into.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank urbancrusader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Generous portions, disappointing setup”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

A group of 7 of us went there for dinner on a Friday night. They messed up the booking and cancelled ours by mistake, so we had to wait outside for a little while before they fixed it.

We sat down and the waitress took our orders for drink and food. The problem is the way the place is set up:: the ceiling is higher than normal and it's basically one cube, so the noise concentrates and it becomes REALLY noisy. On top of that, a group of loud, scantily-clad young women got a table behind ours. While this is not the restaurant's fault, they should have taken action when that table started screaming (not speaking loudly, actual shrieking!) and everyone else had to endure their noise all night, including the elbowing I kept getting from those girls.

Having a conversation became impossible with us having to shout across and still barely hearing anything, so we just ate quickly and wanted to go elsewhere to be able to talk.

The food itself was tasty, with portions very large for one person and we shared dishes. It was all tasty but oddly prepared - my pizza had prosciutto but they seemed to have put like 2kg of it on the pizza, it was a bit overbearing. Overall it was 'alright' italian food, but nothing outstanding. The noise levels, people waiting for a table standing near the toilets, cramped space and again, the NOISE made it a place to give a miss unless you go at a quiet time, then it's fine.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amalfi also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Amalfi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing