We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location to explore city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Miller Apartments Adelaide
Ranked #7 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Sussex
Level Contributor
96 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Good location to explore city”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Took the bus from the airport and in spite of it stopping virtually everywhere we were checked in just over an hour and a quarter after touching down. Check in was smooth with friendly staff and we were allocated a room on floor 4. The view was of other buildings and tin roofs at the back of the hotel but we did ask for a quiet room. Rooms at the front will have the noise from the road and pub goers and clubbers. Double glazing does not seem too popular in Ausralia? The one bedroom apartment is reasonably large with a nice sitting area, kitchen with fridge/freezer, double hotplate, microwave, kettle, toaster etc and a separate bedroom. There was a small balcony but no furniture not that we would have sat out anyway. The apartment was clean but the carpet was badly stained in places. No bath but large shower. Air con was available but it was not hot when we visited. The room is serviced every day but only rubbish removed, towels are changed and tea and coffee topped up. Cleaning is only carried out after 3 days. The refuse collectors seem to pick up from all the fast food restaurants around the area from 04.00 onwards and flights from the airport start around 06.00 so a quiet room is not always possible in a city. There is no WiFi in the hotel but an Ethernet cable is provided (not much use for my tablet). WiFi is available free in the state library or McDonalds. I booked this apartment well in advance but 6 weeks out the rate dropped considerably so I cancelled and re booked to save around $80. The apartment is in a great location to see all the sites in Adelaide and is only a couple mins walk from the main shopping mall and a large Woolworths food store.

Room Tip: Rooms at back avoid the noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillersAndParinga, Manager at Miller Apartments Adelaide, responded to this review, October 26, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review, please note that since you have stayed with us, we have completed a full refurbishment of the apartments and conducted extensive guest service training. We are therefore even better than the last time you stayed with us, and we do hope you will return and stay again.

Best Regards,
Stuart – Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    302
    97
    30
    24
See reviews for
184
275
37
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My family stayed here recently for 4 nights. We had no idea that Uni games was on at the same time, therefore it was really noisy. Our unit was well equiped for what we needed however it could use a fresh coat of paint to make it look cleaner. It was good for access to restaurants & shops so I would recommend it if you want to stay central. However the negatives are that the parking is so small & cramped that it was hard to park. Also our bathroom constantly smelled of Subway as the shop was just below.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillersAndParinga, Manager at Miller Apartments Adelaide, responded to this review, April 20, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, please note that since you have stayed with us, we have completed a full refurbishment of the apartments and conducted extensive guest service training, and we do hope you will return and stay with us again. We do also now have free unlimited WiFi for all guests.

Best Regards,
Stuart – Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I wish I had known that Miller Apartments was surrounded by undesirable establishments. Our 2 bedroom apartment was the smallest I have ever been in and was noticeably smaller than those that our friends had on other floors. You couldn’t walk around the main bedroom without touching the bed which was meant to be king size but was actually queen. The door of the second bedroom could only be opened enough to squeeze through as it was so close to the bed – again a tiny room. They failed to make up one of our bedrooms or leave fresh towels on one of the days. The carpet was grimy, the towels were ready for the bin and the balcony was so tiny it was useless with one tiny table and one chair. We had one two-seater lounge to sit on which was inadequate for 4 people. If you open the sliding door the flies and mosquitoes come in because there is no fly screen. The car park is atrocious – there aren’t enough spaces for all guests and even when there is a space it requires a 20 point turn to get into it. Our apartment faced the street and the noise of people going past and hanging out of the pub opposite was enough to keep us awake not to mention the garbage trucks that come by early in the morning. All in all I would not recommend Miller Apartments to anyone considering that they are charging top dollar! Maximum 3 star rating.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on a high level and situated away from the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kegabry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillersParinga, General Manager at Miller Apartments Adelaide, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for staying with us, and we are certainly disappointed to hear about your stay and we apologize for your experience. I do feel that in your review you have somewhat exaggerated some areas of your stay, and it is only fair for me to respond to some of these comments.
We are a AAA rated 4.5 star apartment hotel, with the most recent review only a few months ago.
All our apartments are different in size, and only a handful of our beds are King size, most are Queen, and nowhere do we promote otherwise.
As we explained to you very clearly when you stayed with us, our rooms only undergo a "major" service every three days, each other day we refresh the rooms, like any other hotel or apartment style property.
Our car park can at times be tight, however to call it atrocious and assume that each park needs 20 points turns to get into could not be further from the truth. However as you may recall for your inconvenience we refunded your car parking charges off your account. You also arrived a day later than you had indicated to us, however we did not charge you for that night as a goodwill gesture, again in an attempt to ensure you were happy.
I feel we did our best to ensure you enjoyed a comfortable stay with us, however it appears that in this instance we have fallen short, and we apologize.
All the best, and and safe travels.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We had to book last minute accommodation on our recent trip to Adelaide and this accommodation looked lovely and new in the pictures, with kitchen facilities which are always handy with a toddler.

Our apartment was nice, in pretty good condition, and had all we needed in it.

The bed was a little firm and the floors creaked when you walked on them, detracting from the modern renovations of the rooms. The curtains also didn't quite cover to the edges of the windows, so light came in at the crack of dawn.

The location was good in terms of getting cheap food easily. But early morning coffee on a Sunday morning was hard to come by in that area of town. Unless you wanted to go for McDonald's coffee.... The location, while good for cheap food was not good in terms of atmosphere for a family, particularly on the Sunday morning, which was an extension of Saturday night for many of the others up and about. In the space of an hour, we (including my 2 year old), witnessed a man using the wall as a toilet, another man crouched and being sick, and then as we went to our car in the hotel's overflow carpark, we were greeted with a lovely 'gift' of someone's overnight toileting, right in the entrance. While the hotel cannot control this, it does give an impression of the atmosphere that surrounds the apartments which I think is important to be aware of.

The staff were lovely and friendly in all interactions, and very helpful.

As mentioned, we were allocated the overflow carpark on our first night, which was slightly down the road. On our second night we were in the Miller Apartment carpark which was extremely tight parking. Not easy to get in and out of.

The bathroom in the apartment was compact, but clean. The water sprayed every direction though and with little pressure behind it. It was adequate, but not relaxing.

Perhaps the most annoying aspect though was the noise. The noise from outside was all through the night on Saturday night and we were woken numerous times from it, right through to dawn, when the train (or tram?) started up. Our room was at the back of the property and got a lot of street noise.

In addition to the outside noise, there was a lot of internal noise. Our room was just near the lift area and the stairs and this meant we were exposed to noise of party-goers staying in the hotel coming and going. Both nights this was an issue, but on Sunday night a lot of uni students were staying there for uni games and so were in and out of the night out throughout the night to the early hours. The soundproofing internally, at least for the room we were allocated, was not good enough.

Given sleep was a priority for us, and is a rare thing anyway with a toddler, we didn't need all these additional disturbances. All things considered, we are not likely to stay here again - definitely not on a weekend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ms_LJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillersParinga, General Manager at Miller Apartments Adelaide, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to write a review. Thank you also for your very kind comments on our staff and quality of our rooms. I must admit I am surprised and disappointed about your experiences outside the hotel. Hindley Street is a very central location and various issues come with that, including noise, and we do take steps to limit that to our hotel guests, but as you said some of those other experiences are beyond our control. You stayed whilst the University Games took place in Adelaide, so perhaps not a great snapshot of what our city and street is usually like!
I do apologise for these experiences, but we hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel so you can enjoy our facilities again, and perhaps during more family friendly times.
Regards
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We spent 5 nights at this location. I think there could be some debate about what was in the photos and what we actually received in the "1 bedroom apartment" which was more like a hotel room with a partial wall between the bedroom and the lounge/ktichen. Not really an apartment - as the wall has an open space above it. We had planned to cook breakfast for example - but on the first morning there alarms went off. Someone down the hall was cooking and set off alarms.... nice way to wake up. We just dressed immediately and went out to the mall to grab something then. I looked at our kitchen set up - in the kitchen the fan outlet simply seems to exhaust through a hole in the top of the cupboards back into the room (is that legal - let alone healthy? It would be smelly likely?). Plus it was very very dusty on top of the cupboards - so that would get blown around. In the end we didn't cook - there was an odd little sign warning people that if you were cooking and the alarm went off - to push some button. Why not have installed proper ventillation in the first place. Room itelf was tidy enough. TV was rather small with a poor choice of stations - hardly a high rated exec setup but perhaps that depends on what you are comparing it to.We also wondered about the washing machine and the dryer which we used - we checked an the staff said to leave the closet door open for venting...hmmmm. it did seem there was an exhaust vent on the ceiling but we were also told to leave the bathroom fan on! Not sure about how that is all hooked up - so the drier exhaust goes into the room? Staff were friendly and attentive. I did leave a note about the dust etc. but it was still there when we left. Located near the Rundle Mall which was convenient. Short distance to some restaurants. Ended up eating at nearby places for breakfasts after that fire alarm etc. which wasn't exactly what we planned - but we just didn't want any morning hassles. Small little sofa in the room - and not much space to relax. Only one chair with a little table on the balconey - the but the old railing wall - cement - is so high you couldn't sit and see anything anyway. We were on the road side - but didn't find it too noisy. We did hear people coming and going in the hall and doors banging etc in the mornings. Bathroom seemed a bit small to get in and out of. Overall it was not too expensive I suppose but we were expecting something else.

Room Tip: Perhaps do not take a 1 bedroom if it has the same set up as ours. Perhaps the larger ones are bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tevorolevu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillersParinga, General Manager at Miller Apartments Adelaide, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and I only think it fair to respond to what I see as some misleading comments regarding our apartment hotel.
*We are a 4.5 star AAA rated apartment hotel and our design reflects this. There is not a "partial wall" however a small gap in our one bedroom apartments for air flow and this is a popular design feature with most our guests
*The kitchen fan outlet is a proper air filtering unit, and although there may be hole in the top, this is to let the filtered air out into the room which is completely standard practice in apartment buildings
*The apartments are without doubt properly ventilated and to think a new apartment building such as this could be built without proper ventilation could't be further from the truth
*For our guests safety we have sensitive fire alarms, and when cooking there is a simple button to press to isolate this alarm, again, common practice in apartment hotels. Unfortunately a guest nearby your room did not activate this switch however it is a great example of how safe our hotel is. I do apologies however for any inconvenience.
*Regarding the choose of TV stations on our new LCD TV's, we have all the free to air digital and analogue stations, and 9 Foxtel stations. This is more than most 5 star hotels in the city.
*We receive many overwhelmingly positive comments about our rooms and have a very loyal following of return guests, however I am disappointed that in this instance we have not met your expectations.
Safe travels, and thank you again for staying with us.
Regards
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We booked a one bedroom Executive apartment. We particularly chose the aparment as it would have its own cooking facilities and judging by the pictures I expected something more spacious than a hotel room. The room was long and very skinny, the bedroom was so small we could barely get alongside the bed.

There was a small kitchenette which on first glance looked terrific. Then we noticed the extractor fan went through a cupboard and then back into the room. As the wall between the bedroom and the living area doesn't go right up to the ceiling, the fan would blow kitchen smells into the bedroom. The second thing was the big sign above the elements saying find the button to turn off the alarm before you start cooking. Hmmm. Sure enough next morning, our neighbours set of the smoke alarms cooking toast. We had only chosen this place so that we could cook our own breakfast, but after that we ate out every day. It wasn't worth the hassle.

There was a balcony, but no view. The bathroom was tiny. Having said all that, while it didn't really suit us, it was convenient, the staff were friendly, and the room was quiet, and the price very reasonable.

Room Tip: If the photos are of the 2-3 brm apartments they might be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank socwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillersParinga, General Manager at Miller Apartments Adelaide, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Please see the response to the above review, as both guests appear to have stayed together in the the room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed here for two nights recently and the room had everything we needed DVD player kitchen facilities which are great if you want to stay on a budget, great location close to everything but can get noisy on a Friday and Saturday night. The room was very clean and roomy and staff were friendly. I booked this room through Wotif and found the rate very good value for what it was. I would stay here again if given the opportunity.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor at the rear of the complex to help alleviate noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blackkez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillersAndParinga, Manager at Miller Apartments Adelaide, responded to this review, October 26, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review, please note that since you have stayed with us, we have completed a full refurbishment of the apartments and conducted extensive guest service training. We are therefore even better than the last time you stayed with us, and we do hope you will return and stay again.

Best Regards,
Stuart – Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.3 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.5 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,588 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
0.7 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miller Apartments Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miller Apartments Adelaide

Property: Miller Apartments Adelaide
Address: 16 Hindley St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#7 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#8 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#9 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Miller Apartments Adelaide 4.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Miller Apartments Adelaide is proudly Adelaide's newest apartment style hotel, providing a new level of comfort in newly renovated one, two and three bedroom fully self-contained apartments with FREE WiFi. The hotel was voted 'Best Apartment / Suite Accommodation' consecutively at the Australian Hotels Association (AHA) SA at the 2013, 2014 & 2015 Awards for Excellence. Miller Apartments offers luxurious apartment style living and is superbly located in the heart of the city. Our friendly and impeccable service coupled with exceptional quality and comfort will ensure a satisfying home away from home stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Miller Apartments Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miller Apartments Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Miller Apartments Hotel Adelaide
Adelaide Miller Apartments Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing