We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great T20 cricket venue”
Review of Adelaide Oval

Adelaide Oval
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.36*
and up
Adelaide Oval Stadium Tour
More Info
$79.87*
and up
Adelaide Oval RoofClimb Experience
More Info
$99.24*
and up
Ultimate Adelaide City and Hahndorf Tour
Ranked #3 of 206 things to do in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Adelaide Oval is widely regarded as one of the most picturesque sporting grounds in the world. Home to cricket, football, concerts, functions and major events.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great T20 cricket venue”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We went as a family to watch the 2020 cricket on New Years Eve and found the new stadium clean, modern and easy to find our way around. The entrance was well staffed with welcoming, helpful people who kept the crowds moving through- no having to wait around in long lines. There's stairs, an escalator or lifts for easy access to upper levels of the stadium. We were on the south side of the stadium, in the highest stand. This was a great view and although being up high you didn't miss out on the action. We didn't buy food (brought our own) but the food facilities and toilets were close to the entrances to the stadium so you wouldn't waste time trying to find your way to them. We also brought along bottles of water because it was hot weather and was good to have our own water at hand. We'd been the previous year (when it was still being built) and sat on the north side, down low. It was good to bring a hat and/or sunnies because until the sun went down behind the stadium it was very hot. It's sad to say goodbye to the old oval and all its history, but I'm not disappointed by the new one.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank GirlAboutTown2B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,582
    492
    81
    22
    25
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queensland, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great tour with bonus of Donald Bradman museum”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We did the Adelaide Oval tour on a recent trip to Adelaide. Not being a cricket fan (unlike hubby) I tagged along anyway. Loved the museum dedicated to Donald Bradman and we both found it very interesting. The tour of the facilities was also very interesting especially the dressing rooms, press rooms, corporate suites and the old scoreboard. Seeing the Sheffield Shield was a bonus. Both guides were very knowledgable. Well worth a visit, even if you aren't a cricket lover.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Relal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Modern and fresh stadium for cricket”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Great venue to hold the Ashes Test Match, partially under construction. To be completed in full early 2014. All the staff there were welcoming, friendly and helpful. Great access. A great stadium with a great future. Shame about the history having been torn down but guess that it progress to some. Good views all round. Impressive. Pity England were poor and deservedly got stuffed by the better side, grrrr!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank dcplod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“It's awful”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

The AFL has really ruined this once lovely cricket oval. Test cricket is not the same to watch here - you can be at any other horrible grandstand in Australia, rather than the quaint seating that was Adelaide Oval.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank MandM27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Spectacular New Ground Development but don't hold your breath for a coffee.”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We came to watch the second Ashes Test Match in the 2013-14 series. Its unfortunate that the East Stand was not completed in time. It gave a bizarre spectacle with cherry pickers in place on the upper levels ready to install seats on the barren concrete stand. However, the South Stand is spectacular. The entrance at the ground floor is more in-keeping with a good quality hotel rather than a sports venue, such is the quality of the finish and the decoration. The spectator is taken to the upper levels by escalators and lifts; no spartan breeze block here nor the long trudge up concrete steps or ramps that are found in other recent sports ground developments. During the test match, attendance rose to around 39,000. When the East Stand is complete I understand the ground capacity will rise to nearly 60,000.
The view from the top of the stand is good. Although seating at the top of the stand is well above the playing area, the view is good. Access to the stand is also good, eradicating the need for queues. Bag searches were conducted efficiently in front of the turnstiles. The complaint I have relates to catering arrangements. I understand the ground development has cost in the region of AUSD530m. I would have liked them to spend a few extra thousand dollars creating sufficient coffee stands to meet demand. While there were beer and cocktail serverys aplenty, with staff standing idly by, coffee serverys were not all open and the queues took an hour to be served. People queued and as they got to the point of being served the servery would be closed because of running out of water, milk or coffee, or staff were moved elsewhere. On the first day of the match we thought it was a teething problem which would be resolved during the following few days. However, nothing changed. Staff who had been working as barristas on the first day were seen checking tickets on subsequent days while other, inexperienced staff were making the same mistakes that their colleagues had made on the first day. They had not learned and service was as bad on the last day of the match as it had been on the first day. In the end, people gave up trying to get coffee.
So much good work was undone because of a lack of attention to detail. The stand may be good but if spectators are not catered for there will be many complaints.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bruce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adelaide Oval also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Adelaide Oval? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing