We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lots of taxpayer money - but wonderful facilities.r” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adelaide Oval

Adelaide Oval
Book In Advance
More Info
$17.06*
and up
Adelaide Oval Stadium Tour
Ranked #1 of 194 things to do in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Adelaide Oval is widely regarded as one of the most picturesque sporting grounds in the world. Home to cricket, football, concerts, functions and major events.
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Lots of taxpayer money - but wonderful facilities.r”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

We went to all five days of the Adelaide Test, the first time the new southern stand was functional. Magnificent - with only a few quibbles.
Access is brilliant - the plaza outside links to the new (overly expensive) bridge in a way I didn't think possible.
Inside, access to seats is good, save for the ever present need to have your membership card scanned. The seats themselves give a majestic view of the Oval - for cricket, being behind the bowler's arm is brilliant - for footy, I'm sure it'll be just as good, especially, strangely enough, from the top deck, where the view is just awesome. But here's quibble 1 - the gap between the seats is minimal, so that if anyone wants to get past, it's really uncomfortable for everyone in their path. I didn't measure the gap, but we all thought the seats in the Western Grandstand had more room in front of them.
Facilities wise, the new stand just about stood up to its first test. The Bars on Level 3 were packed out, and here we arrive at quibble 2 - entry and exit to the seating area is mainly through this bar area - not ideal if you have kids in tow.

Up on Level 5, the Bar/terrace area is spacious - actually it's huge, and the view back across the city is terrific.

Finally to quibble 3 - and my major problem with the whole design. There is, am told, a wonderful room available for mums and babies, but nowhere outside is there anywhere for parents with strollers. This applies to both the western grandstand as well. The situation leaves parents parking their strollers in the disabled spots - many of which are in full sun, at least in the first part of the day. Here we are, trying to encourage the next generation of kids, but at the same time parents are being discouraged from bringing their kids because there is nowhere for them to sit together. I pointed this out last year to the SACA, but obviously no one's taken any notice,as the situation in the new stand is identical. This is personal, as my daughter and her husband, both members, were reluctant to bring their 4 and 1 year old, and therefore were not going to attend at all, because the facilities for them were non-existent. All that money, all those architects, and no one thinks of parents and kids. Astonishing.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank madpom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,011 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,459
    441
    70
    18
    23
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nailsea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“What a venue!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

The Oval will be a superb international venue when finished. The ground is already among my favourites and completion will create a modern stadium worthy of contests like the Ashes. The only downside is the current distance between the railway station and the North gate - which will be much shorter when finished.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cliff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney (formerly Redditch, UK)
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Much much changed since my 2006 and 2010 visits.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

The stands look great and got a chance to check out the facilities in the south stand on the last day. The hill is still there at the moment, but now pretty much half seats, half grass!!! I do fear that within the next few years this will be all seats, and if it wasn't for the fact that they can't touch the old scoreboard, there would be another great big stand down the north end of the ground, making it almost another MCG monstrosity!!!
All that said, I have given the review a 'Very Good' because if you're into big stands, this is pretty good, because the facilities etc are spot on!!!
It's just no New Road now, more Edgbaston!!!!
One little gripe, there seemed to be a lack of stewards/people to direct us outside. On the first day of the test, there was thousands of people being sent in all sorts of directions!!! I got sent a long way around the ground (from south to north gates) through building sites and a Next Generation gym!!!
See you in 2017, or is it 2018, I had better check the Future Tours Program!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank whiteensign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not The Answer”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

This upgrade falls way short of what will be expected in the 21st century..Separate stands antiquated hill and scoreboard no retractable roof.In wintery weather windy,cold and uncomfortable outside of covered corporate areas..Inadequate parking and flat footbridge to close off already limited vehicle access to this ground..Adelaide will soon need a better more modern alternative.You can't take half measures to solve a problem.Try again!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Kurt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“On the path to excellence”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

Readily accessible on foot to the city the redevelopment of the Oval will transform the venue from a quaint old fashioned cricket arena to a major stadium but with the retention of the Hill contact remains with the past history of the Oval. Viewing arrangements are superb, the concourse areas give ample room for the safe movement of spectators and mid session social activity. The toilet areas and catering arrangements are good but with one notable exception- if you intend to attend a major event at the Oval please be advised to order your coffee two days in advance! The current system is labour intensive, painfully slow, and not sustainable. The atmosphere was terrific. You do need to take your tickets with you whenever you leave your seats as tickets are checked for retry to your section each time as they are in most venues.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adelaide Oval also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Adelaide Oval? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing