We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just above average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plaza Hotel

Plaza Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Plaza Hotel
Ranked #53 of 58 Hotels in Adelaide
Bendigo, Victoria
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Just above average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2009

I found a mixture of good and bad at this place. I stayed here for a Christmas break, and whilst the location close to the CBD is great, it was not an excellent accommodation experience. My main beefs are with the poor reception on the television in the room, which I noticed someone else has also complained about on Trip Advisor. With the technology in this day and age, couldn't they have TVs that actually receive a decent picture? Also, the lift is something to be aware of. You have to open the door yourself to enter and exit. And it is slightly rickety when operational. I always used the stairs, which does not make the place wheelchair friendly. I found the rooms spacious enough and the air conditioning worked swiftly.
The housekeeping staff were extremely friendly, and because I had things planned to do during the day, I wasn't bothered by the shonky TV too much.
It was very noisy on Saturday night, with pulsating disco music from the streets nearby. The reception staff were generally polite, but overall, I know one could do better in terms of Hindley Street accommodation. The City Central at number 23 or the Princes Arcade further down at 262 are better experiences. I am mainly leaning toward not recommending this hotel because of the bad TV reception, the arduous effort involved in having to open the lift and the worn out look the tiles in my shower possessed.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    0
    4
    4
    14
See reviews for
1
6
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
260 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2009

Not a bad location in the central CBD, but that's about it! Rooms very tired and need a facelift, decor is so out dated, TV in room had little signal, no iron or hairdryer. Rooms can be a bit nosey as is located in a lively part of town. Corridors stunk of smoke. If you want a very basic hotel in a central location then fair enough but otehrwise be prepared to slum it.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank UkPeteD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Adelaide hotels

Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
137 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2008

Three of us were booked into this hotel for two nights. The hallways smelled like b.o., the elevator was only large enough for one of us at a time with our bags, the a/c in at least one of the rooms didn't work, a woman (apparently a hooker) was sitting outside one of the rooms smoking and drinking wine and while all the prerequisites were there (bed, toilet, shower, tv), we didn't stay - even though the rooms were pre-paid. Maybe this is fine if you are backpacking your way through Australia, but if you are on business or traveling with the family, go three doors down the street (right past the adult novelty store) and stay at the Holiday Inn, or better yet, one block away at the Adelaide Hyatt - which is were we ended up.

  • Liked — Central location
  • Disliked — Creepy!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bsimonis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kanpur UP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2007

We relied on the taxi most times we went anywhere. It is $50.00 round trip to Guaymas and $12.00 round trip to San Carlos. It is $50.00 a day for a scooter and $250.00 a day for a four wheeler. If you call the resort from the Airport the Taxi will come and get you for $25.00. It will cost you $35.00 if you take the van at the airport but you won't have to wait. The van it will drop everyone off one at a time; we were lucky as everyone on the van was going to the same place.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank Sitaram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Adelaide Grosvenor
0.0 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley
0.1 mi away
Oaks Horizons
Oaks Horizons
#25 of 58 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie
0.1 mi away
Adelaide Paringa
Adelaide Paringa
#36 of 58 in Adelaide
3.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
1.0 mi away
Adelaide City Park Motel
Adelaide City Park Motel
#47 of 58 in Adelaide
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel

Property: Plaza Hotel
Address: 85 Hindley St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 58 Hotels in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing