We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Quality Hotel experience ever!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Adelaide Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Adelaide Inn
Ranked #36 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Worst Quality Hotel experience ever!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Stayed there on weekend of 5/6 April, all I can say is...don't bother

*The bar/conference area was booked for a big group of people for some sort of karaoke competition, noise just won't stop, the reception kept telling me he can't do anything and they shoud be over by 1230AM!, unfortunately they didn't and continue on till almost 1am.

*Paid little attention to detail when it comes to cleanness, hair dryer not working, they should have checked that

I almost always stay at Quality Hotel, but after this experience I will think twice...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Timmy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    106
    60
    16
    12
See reviews for
42
85
23
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Was trying to get a place to stay close to Adelaide CBD & close to my son's city student housing. Saturday football at the newly upgraded Adelaide Aussie rules football oval made most hotels busy on just saturday night. Quality Hotel Old Adelaide (North Adelaide) turned out to be my Unexpeded savior with rooms available.
I needed Saturday thru Tuesday & was going to be spending a lot of time visiting relatives & friends. North Adelaide has great restaurants & shops, & so the hotel is well positioned. It has larger rooms with comfy fit out, better than most similar category hotels, so I was pleased with what was provided. They also had convenient parking & the people at the front desk were very nice & helpful. I was only at the hotel to sleep, catchup on emails & calls, & to wash & change. It was convenient & felt more homely & less sterile than I see in many other hotels. One negative, Saturday night had a wedding & the festivities carried on until the wee hours of Sunday morning. The noise and colorful language was unpleasant, but I did learn some new cuss words! The hotel staff had warned me of the potential for noise, So it was not a surprise at least. TO summarize, a well located comfy economic hotel close to the center of Adelaide.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Gary-L8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

Third time I have stayed here and maybe because I booked through wot if but my room was average. Torn carpet, with an iron burn to boot. Room deodoriser that made my eyes water.
Checking all good, food good, but room for improvement on the Accomadation front.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batemans Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

The staff make a tired hotel a happier place. Old and once elegant on a street full of restaurants.
The shower in room 229 is one of the BEST showers ever. Hot with tonnes of pressure. The spa and the pool are not heated. Refreshing on a hot Adelaide day. The air conditioner had to be propped open with a handy telephone book for efficient cool air dissemination. The morning buffet was very well supplied. The price was lowered after very few takers on our first day out of the 4 days we stayed. It is better value than the early opening restaurants/cafes along O'Connell Street. More tucker for less dollars. Across the road The Royal Oak pub had terrific food and live music as well as cold beer and unique Laminex ambience. For the price of two Mini bar snacks you could have a large cold beer with friendly bar staff and laughing dancers. The WiFi is NOT free. Why do hotels continue to plague us punters with this silly charge? But the staff made us welcome and were smiling representatives for this hotel. The bed was comfortable.

Room Tip: The hotel is on a main road so ask for a room at the back. Fabulous shower in Room 229!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank longbich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
169 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

stayed here during my visit to the Womad festival. Close to the city, clean room, good breakfast, friendly staff. The downside would be that the t.v had poor reception, although not a biggy, i do enjoy to watch the news when getting ready in the morning. But for the price this hotel was a good find and i would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orwellwasright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here over 5 nights during the Fringe festival and Soundwave music festival period and was quite happy with the room my friend and I stayed in. Our room was originally booked for 3 but one of us couldnt make it. Even though the decor is a little out dated we found the room to be very comfortable and suited our stay perfectly. With it been about a 20 minute walk into the city or about a $10 cab ride we got to see alot on our way in and out.
And a special mention to the staff working on the reception desk. They were very helpful in any questions we had and were very friendly each time we went past the desk.
We didnt try the food in the restaurant though as there seemed to be to much to offer in the few blocks surrounding the hotel.
Would definently stay here again if I come back to Adelaide.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

Stayed there the first night on arrival in Adelaide, for a weeks holiday. Disappointed that our room with disabled facilities had not been reserved, when I booked 3 months in advance. The receptionist tried to arrange suitable accommodation at a sister hotel, but when this failed, we were offered (and accepted) a complimentary full breakfast. Hotel is conveniently located but is dated, and needs a bit of upgrading.

Room Tip: We had a room away from the main road, and had no issues with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dobbo_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 mi away
O'Connell Inn
O'Connell Inn
#29 of 57 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.8 mi away
Adelaide Meridien Hotel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Majestic Tynte Street Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Arkaba Hotel
Arkaba Hotel
#1 of 2 in Fullarton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
1.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel Soho
Clarion Hotel Soho
#34 of 57 in Adelaide
3.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
1.8 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelaide Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelaide Inn

Property: Adelaide Inn
Address: 160 O'Connell St | North Adelaide, Adelaide, South Australia 5006, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel Old Adelaide)
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adelaide Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location does not get much better than at the Adelaide Inn! Everything you would ever want at your doorstep. Shopping, dining, a cinema, fitness centre, golf course, jogging tracks, bars; you name it, O’Connell St has it…and the Adelaide Inn is right in the midst of it. Only 1.5km from Adelaide CBD, within walking distance of the newly renovated and iconic Adelaide Oval, you will have everything at your fingertips whether travelling for work or for pleasure. Stay at the hotel during the cricket and during AFL games and park at the hotel, you can then walk to the Oval! The location will keep you wanting to return. With a range of newly decorated accommodation to suit all tastes, the Adelaide Inn exudes an elegance and charm that will make you feel warm, welcome and comfortable. The grandeur the hotel commands is unequivocal. The hotel offers Balcony Spa Suite’s and a Luxury Spa Suite, perfect for special occasions and relaxation. With two person corner spa baths and balconies, the Adelaide Inn has something for you to enjoy. Families are well catered for, with individual or interconnecting rooms available. Having an outdoor pool and heated jacuzzi with sauna means children will be entertained as well. The Adelaide Inn is also located very close to the Adelaide Aquatic Centre, which is perfect for entertaining the little ones. As well as being amongst some of Adelaide’s best cafes and restaurants, the hotel also offers an in-house restaurant which caters to in-house guests and the wider public. The Fox Bar & Grill, offers Modern Australian cuisine, and some of the best food that North Adelaide has to offer. With beautiful surroundings you can dine ‘under the vines’, or overlooking the pool. Enjoy a family dinner; catch up with friends; or a romantic dinner with your plus one. You will not be disappointed. Lastly, but not finally, the Adelaide Inn offers private function spaces for hire. Catering for small to large conferences, corporate events, birthday parties, breakfast seminars and cocktail parties, there will be a space to suit your needs. The Adelaide Inn is one of Adelaide’s most popular wedding venues. With the ability to hold your wedding ceremony and wedding reception, you can choose to hold your wedding upstairs in the ‘Wakefield Room’ where you can make your grand entrance via the grand foyer staircase; or, hire the Snooty Fox and allow your guests to filter out to the pool area throughout your reception. The choice is yours! If you have not been convinced that the Adelaide Inn offers all that you will need for your corporate or leisure vacation, then please visit us. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Adelaide Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn North Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing