We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So blah and indescript”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sage Hotel Adelaide
Ranked #25 of 55 Hotels in Adelaide
Reviewed June 13, 2009

My husband and I stayed here as a part of a package deal from SeaLink prior to leaving for two tours with their company. We were sorely disappointed with the stay at the hotel for many reasons. First and foremost, unless you are in town for business, this is far from ideal for the tourists' location all the way out on South Terrace. There is a free tram just a block down and you can walk to the Rundle St Mall area, but it is a bit of a hike. It's just not centrally located and was a huge disappointment for us. Secondly, while the front desk staff were friendly and tried to accomodate us, their rooms were inferior in many ways. We were promised an early check in by SeaLink and upon arrival, we were notified that our room wouldn't be ready for at least an hour, which wasn't a big deal overall, but again, a promise was unkept. Once we checked into that room, we noticed that two lightbulbs had burnt out and that we were supposed to have a clock radio. Also, the sliding glass door balcony did not close properly and let in the wind and noise (VERY noisy!). We also never got a complete towel set during our stay. We had to check out and check back in for one night between tours and when we checked back in, we were told we were upgraded. Once we entered the upgraded room, it was laughable...same old room, on a different side of the building. Oh, but this time we did have a radio that read " 7:88" as the time. Overall, we were sorely disappointed with this hotel as tourists and thankfully, we were able to check out and spend one night at a centrally located hotel that was much better for our purposes.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bonjonsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,256)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,212 - 1,218 of 1,256 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2009

Booked via Wotif and paid $129 per night and stayed 4 nights; as part of a promo we were upgraded to an executive room on 9th floor. Room was recently refurbished and looked modern enough however definite lack of attention in the detail:

- door closer was too strong for all doors on the floor resulting in bang bang bang every time someone went in or out, us included

- room was not vacuumed once in our 4 day stay

- corridors have no ventilation or air con, resulting in hot stuffy walk to room

- 2nd hand equipment used in the refurb (good: better to reuse than recycle) eg air conditioner and telephone (bad: they were very grubby with obvious black smudges & prints)

- bathroom & room lights were eco friendly (good) but couldn't see to put makeup on the bathroom (bad) and couldn't get close to the mirror b/c sink in the way

- the "hotel pool" was in the property next door and was an unsheltered, unadorned, very basic concrete watering hole in the car park. Couldn't spend any time in the pool in 40c temps as there was no shade or shelter apart from a hot openlaserlite roof nearby

- wall mounted TV (good) with wires hanging down looked very unsightly and could easily have been fixed

- refurbed room doors were clearly rebadged old doors (I support reuse of materials; don't support screw holes from removal of old room number being obvious)

- 1% visa surcharge on bill - never experienced this before !

- Staff were friendly, no hiccups during the stay apart from the lack of vacuuming & issues above. Free newspapers each day.

All up, given that Adelaide has lots of other hotel options I would try them next time given that I have no reason to want to return to Hotel 208, now known as Grand Chifley. I think they could easily do better and it's a shame they don't take a look in their rooms to find out how.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fandangoMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2008

My friend and I were forced to stay in Adelaide due to a cancelled flight.This hotel was recommended by the staff at the airport tour desk.They said it had been recently renovated.
Well, we certainly weren't given a renovated room.The room was 1960's style, dirty and small.There were holes in the curtains!
Also we arrived around 9pm, having waited ages at the airport, only to be told that the kitchen had closed and we had to trapse down the street looking for a restaurant (not alot of choice in that part of town and on that point - don't bother with Fasta Pasta!)

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KillarneyFarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2008

Booked a room through wotif for $109 inclusive of upgrade to fully renovated executive room.

Whilst the front of the property is a total construction site at the moment (which may well account for the current cheap pricing), the fully renovated room I had on the 10th floor was outstanding value for money. It was so new you could still smell the timber finishes.

The room was more spacious and comfortable than the deluxe rooms at the hilton which are around the $300 mark. The opening door onto the balcony is great - fantastic views ot the hills and the parklands (and the motel car park next door!!) - also gave heaps of natural light in the room and a stunning sunrise.

The room service dinner and breakfast were excellent value for money (though the dinner did take nearly an hour to arrive)

It was refreshing to see that whoever planned the installation of the wall mounted flat screen TV had it positioned at EXACTLY the right height from viewing from in bed.

Only small criticims are these

- on check in I was not advised of how to find the lift which at the moment is around several corners past construction hoardings

- toilet not quite spotlessly cleaned

- window of sliding door onto balcony dirty and smudged with fingerprints

- the sound from the TV was occasionally scratchy and distorted through some of the free to air channels

But overall I will not hesitate to stay here again!!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJstar69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2008

I booked a room here for 1 night prior to leaving adelaide. The reservation process was easy and pain free, on checkin the staff were friendly and helpful. The room itself was clean and comfortable, nothing amazing but had the basic amenities one would expect. For $120 a night it was quite reasonable. The only downfall was its location, its about a 20-25 minute walk into the center of town, or 5 minute walk to catch the tram (which is free) into town.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Awarnach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2007

Stayed in the hotel for over a week. The room was quite small and a bit dirty. The breakfast - quite limited/ not eneough variety: egg, bacon, bread, cereal and fruits - everyday. The coffee was undrinkable. The staff at the restaurant were friendly though.

The hotel is quite a distance from the city. Cost AUD$10 to travel by cab to city. The tram and the bus is about ten minutes away by foot. Nothing in the south terrace (except some cafes)- where the hotel is located.

We requested for some bubble wrap from the reception, string or twine and soem tape as we had bought some large items that needed to be boxed - but the requests were not met. They do not have any string or sticky tape in the hotel....can you believe that?

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank littlereddot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2006

We stayed 6 nights in the motel wing of this hotel (its branded Country Comfort, but you share Hotel 208 check in and other facilities). We good a very good deal - an average of A$73 per night. Carparking right outside the door. Room was large in studio style - no cooking facilities though which are common place in Australian motels. A few dirty spots in the room - but nothing to worry about. Location is a little inconvenient to CBD - its a 20 minute walk to the art gallery, although it's only 10 minutes walk to the free bus service. Staff were friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank jeffrocowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 mi away
Chifley on South Terrace
Chifley on South Terrace
#37 of 55 in Adelaide
1,384 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#4 of 55 in Adelaide
1,222 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 55 in Adelaide
1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Majestic Minima Hotel
Majestic Minima Hotel
#11 of 55 in Adelaide
613 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel Soho
Clarion Hotel Soho
#36 of 55 in Adelaide
46 reviews
2.2 mi away
Adelaide Inn
Adelaide Inn
#27 of 55 in Adelaide
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sage Hotel Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sage Hotel Adelaide

Address: 208 South Tce, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia (Formerly Grand Chifley Adelaide)
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#24 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: $86 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sage Hotel Adelaide 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just as Adelaide is said to be able to deliver all Australian experiences in one place, Sage Hotel Adelaide presents the very best in Australian hospitality in one hotel. Whether you've come for work or to simply getaway, you'll quickly realise that you've picked the right place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sage Hotel Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Chifley Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
208 Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing