We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent unless you need wifi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sage Hotel Adelaide
Ranked #23 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Extremely pleasant and convenient location (easy walking distance to the tram stop). Rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff were very agreeable and helpful. We didn't like the first room we were given on the first floor (dirty aspect out the window and right near the laundry) but they moved us quickly to the third floor which was lucky because there was a function on the Saturday night which would have been very loud if we were still on the first floor.
The cheap Sunday in the 3 night rate was great value and included the breakfast buffet. The bacon was absolutely perfect - something I can't even manage when I cook it!
However, the wifi prices were exorbitant, far above most hotels I've been to. If you need an internet connection, go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cazbeckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Sage Hotel Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear cazbeckett
Thanks for the review on your recent stay and I am sorry I have not responded sooner.
Our current $30 Sunday, 3 night deal is great value as you mention. These packages are limited so we recommend people book early to avoid disappointment.
Our Wifi rates are set by an external 3rd party provider, however we are in the process of renewing our Wifi agreement and infrastructure. This will allow our guests greater flexibility and a range of pricing options once finalised in the near future.
I am sure, if we ask him nicely, our breakfast chef would be happy to share the secret to our 'perfect' bacon next time you stay. :)
Kind Regards

Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,063)
There are newer reviews for Sage Hotel Adelaide
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

878 - 884 of 1,065 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here in a Twin Double room booked on Wotif. The room was nothing fancy, it had two comfortable beds, a television and a bathroom that, although small, was serviceable. The room had air conditioning (which was great as we'd arrived during one of the hot spells) and the balcony was a nice touch, even if it wasn't very huge and didn't have an overly exciting view (which was expected, when we booked the room info explicitly stated that there wasn't going to be a great view).

The hotel is within walking distance the South Terrace tram stop, meaning free transport via tram to the city right up to the Entertainment Centre at Hindmarsh, as well as having the chance to pay to catch the tram down to Glenelg. The staff were friendly and polite.

One of the less positive aspects of the room was the bath\shower combo. First, it was a little confusing (you had to turn the water on first, then pull the lever so that the water would come out of the shower head and not the bath tap), and secondly, it seems to have been designed without taking into account that people who are taller than about 5'8" also like to shower - I'm roughly 6' tall and had to bend rather awkwardly to wash my hair. I will give credit for the nifty toilet though.

Also take into account that parking is not guaranteed, and that the car park is a little awkwardly arranged and a bit of a tight squeeze in parts to get in or out of.

I'd reccomend this hotel maybe for a one night stay if you were using a taxi and\or public transport.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Sage Hotel Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Hi Douglas C
Thanks for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay.
It sounds like you got onto one of our great "Cost Saver" deals and saved a few dollars. Whilst the rooms are generally the same as other standard rooms throughout the hotel, if a view is not of great concern then these rooms are ideal. Other great deals are available on the hotels website also.
Parking can be tight at times (especially as its free), however with two neighboring sister properties there is generally an off street park available for our guests.
Kind Regards

Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We spent 5 nights at this hotel recently for a holiday and we were very glad we did. Although we were not on a strict budget, the free parking on-site and the free tram into the city meant we could spend more on tours and attractions which suited us just fine. The standard room was modern, clean and spacious. We had no issues with pigeons on the balcony. The view of the hills and the pool next door was pleasant. The head bar tender provide great service during our stay. We asked for an ice bucket to be delivered to our room at it arrived in an instant. The breakfast was adequate and filling. The parklands opposite made for a lovely atmosphere. Superb value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sestieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Sage Hotel Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear Sestieg
Thanks for the review on your recent stay which we are pleased to read you enjoyed.
We also believe the FREE car parking a CBD city tram are excellent reasons to stay with us and be just a little away from the main hustle and bustle - although we are by no means remote. As well as the additional tours you were able to take with our affordable rates, I hope you were also able to take advantage of some of the great restaurants, cafes and pubs in our area whilst you stayed.
The pigeon problem we have experienced previously is on the decline as we have now installed bird proof measures to approx 70% of the hotels balconies. Happily, this has resulted in less people being disturbed/affected by them and a general improvement in the cleanliness of the balconies overall. We anticipate 100% job completion in the next 6-8 weeks and whilst this won't completely stop the pigeons, they will certainly be less inclined to stop with us as they no longer have any roosting/nesting spaces.
We look forward to welcoming you back when next you stay.
Kind Regards

Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Situated opposite a lovely park on the South Side of the City Center. Old building but very well looked after. Staff is extremely helpful and front desk open 24 hours. Lovely restaurant on ground floor. I would not stay any where else when in Adelaide.

Room Tip: The tram from there into the City Centre is free - make use of this! (Ask at reception, they are hap...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank THVerster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Sage Hotel Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear THVerster
I am pleased you enjoyed your visit. Thanks also for writing a review for others to see and hopefully assist them in deciding to stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are here.
Regards

Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We recently stayed at the Grand Chifley for an overnight stay.
This hotel is very conveniently located on South Terrace so it makes it easily accessable to major roads and places of interest.
Check- in was easy .Staff were friendly and approachable. Parking was a bit hard , as all the spaces were taken.We were able to use the apartment parking next door.Parking is free which is always a bonus.
The room itself was very clean with an updated modern decor. The room led out to a small balcony with views of the Adelaide Hills. It was lovely to watch the sunrise over the hills.
The bathroom could do with additional lighting, as it was very dimly lit.
There were a selection of magazines to flip through and your usual Tea/coffee supplies.
The bed was a little hard.A mattress topper would have been good.
All in all, a nice overnight stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dudleydog99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Sage Hotel Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear Dudleydog99
Thanks for writing a review on your recent stay. Your comments have been shared amongst the team and we are pleased you enjoyed the visit.
Parking can sometimes be at e premium directly at the hotel, however as you mention, guests are also welcome to park in either of our sister properties next door (Chifley on South Terrace and Country Comfort Adelaide).
I have asked maintenance and housekeeping to ensure the correct lighting is being used in the bathrooms as we also feel suitable lighting is needed.
We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Adelaide and stay with us.
Regards

Damian Gillings
Executive Assistannat Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for two nights following knee surgery. The rooms were quite good but not as clean as it could be. My room was serviced but there were no uht milks replaced for the ones I had used. I was very disappointed with the restaurant. I had the fish as a main course and it was really the size of an entree serve. Pricing of meals was a bit high compared with other places I've stayed. The waiter in in the restaurant was very good (Simon) and deserves to be complimented. Reception people were very helpful particularly Ben. I would stay here again but you only get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Sage Hotel Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear Martin S
Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. I hope your knee surgery has been successful and you are well and truly on the mend.
I am sorry the UHT milks were not topped up during your stay and have reminded housekeeping to ensure this is done daily for all rooms. We apologise for any inconvenience experienced.
Your comment regarding the restaurant has been passed on to Chef for further attention and assessment as to the serving size vs cost as value for money and perceptions are important to us also.
We look forward to welcoming you back when next you stay.
Kind Regards

Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

From our balcony we could see over the park and toward the ocean in the distance. Close to great restaurants, hotels and shops. Spacious and immaculate. We really enjoyed staying here. We were visiting Adelaide for a wedding at Veale gardens so it was an ideal location.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank sharroncarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Sage Hotel Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear Sharroncarson
Thanks for the positive review onm your recent stay. I am pleased you enjoyed your visit.
The views from the higher floors are indeed lovely and personally, I love seeing the amazing sunsets from the Western side of the building - especially on those days when there is a bit of cloud around to truly showcase the great colors.
We look forward to welcoming you back when next you stay.
kind Regards

Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 mi away
Chifley on South Terrace
Chifley on South Terrace
#36 of 57 in Adelaide
1,236 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 57 in Adelaide
1,126 reviews
2.1 mi away
Adelaide Meridien Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
1,305 reviews
0.9 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sage Hotel Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sage Hotel Adelaide

Address: 208 South Tce, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia (Formerly Grand Chifley Adelaide)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#22 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: $99 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sage Hotel Adelaide 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just as Adelaide is said to be able to deliver all Australian experiences in one place, Sage Hotel Adelaide presents the very best in Australian hospitality in one hotel. Whether you've come for work or to simply getaway, you'll quickly realise that you've picked the right place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sage Hotel Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Chifley Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
208 Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing